Idaho Judicial Council Member Applicants – Seeking Comments

The Board of Commissioners of the Idaho State Bar is considering applicants for two attorney members of the Idaho Judicial Council, with terms commencing on July 1, 2023.

In making its selections, the Commissioners will be guided by Idaho Code Section 1-2101 as amended during the 2023 legislative session. The Board of Commissioners will select three nominees for submission to the Governor. The Governor will appoint the members, subject to confirmation by the Senate.

Idaho Code Section 1-2101(2) states: In selecting nonjudicial attorneys to nominate for membership on the judicial council, the Idaho state bar commission shall solicit applications from members of the state bar who are eligible for nomination as provided in subsection (1) of this section and shall make a good faith effort to solicit feedback on such attorneys to determine each applicant’s appropriateness to serve on the council.

The following attorneys applied to serve on the Idaho Judicial Council: John A. Bush, Keely E. Duke, Russell L. Johnson, Daniel R. C. Mortensen, John E. Rumel, Judy Ruud, Norman M. Semanko, and Jeffrey J. Ventrella.

Comments on the applicants should be directed to: Diane Minnich, Executive Director, Idaho State Bar, P.O. Box 895, Boise, ID 83701, 208-334-4500, Please submit comments no later than June 16.