License Fee Schedule
|Admitted before July 1 of the calendar year||$175|
|Admitted after July 1 of the calendar year||$115|
|Active or House Counsel fourth full year of admission and every year thereafter||$425|
|Active or House Counsel in the first, second, or third full year of admission||$320|
|Inactive or Emeritus Member (information below)||$150|
|Senior Member (information below)||$70|
|Members age 72 years or older (regardless of status)||$70|
View descriptions of all membership statuses on our Membership Count & Statuses page.
Active: Active members are licensed to practice law in Idaho. In addition to paying an annual license fee and client assistance fund assessment, active members must file a Trust Account Certificate and complete the Disclosure of Professional Liability Insurance form. Idaho attorneys are not required to have a trust account unless they handle client or third-party funds and they are not required to carry professional liability insurance. However, all active members must complete both forms.
Inactive Membership: Available to attorneys who wish to continue their membership, but do not plan to engage in the practice of law in the state of Idaho. They continue to receive all publications and mailings of the Idaho State Bar, but cannot practice law in Idaho, vote for Commissioners, or vote on resolutions. Inactive members are not required to meet the mandatory continuing legal education (MCLE) credit requirement required for an active or house counsel license. However, transferring to inactive status at the end of the MCLE reporting period will not eliminate the current reporting requirement.
Senior Membership: Available to attorneys over the age of 65 or older. Senior members are not licensed to practice law in Idaho and must meet the same licensing requirements as Inactive members.
Emeritus Membership: Available to attorneys who have been actively licensed to practice law in Idaho or another state within the preceding five years. The limited emeritus license enables the attorneys to engage in pro bono work through an approved organization such as Idaho Legal Aid Services or the Idaho Volunteer Lawyers Program. Attorneys must apply for emeritus admission and the Idaho Supreme Court issues the emeritus licenses. (IBCR 228)
Voluntary Resignation: An attorney may voluntarily resign his or her membership by submitting a Voluntary Resignation Form to the Executive Director.
Transfer to Active Status: Idaho Bar Commission Rule (IBCR) 306 governs transfer to active status. When considering a change in status, please keep the following requirements in mind:
- Attorneys who have not been active in Idaho for 1-3 years must complete an extra 10 MCLE credits and attorneys who have not been active in Idaho for 3 years or more must complete an extra 30 credits.
- Attorneys who have not been active in Idaho for 5 years or more must complete a character and fitness investigation including fingerprinting and must provide proof they are competent to practice law in Idaho.
- Attorneys who have not active in Idaho or actively engaged in the practice of law in another state for 7 years or more may be required to take all or a portion of the bar examination.
- Attorneys who have not active in Idaho or actively engaged in the practice of law in another state for 10 years or more will have to apply for admission.
If you are interested in transfer to active status or would like to discuss the effects of transferring to inactive or senior status, please contact Annette Strauser in the Licensing Department at (208) 334-4500.