Section IV of the Idaho Bar Commission Rules governs the MCLE accreditation and reporting requirements.
A course provider or an Idaho attorney may apply for accreditation of a CLE activity. To apply for credit, submit the appropriate application for MCLE credit along with a complete course schedule – MCLE Forms. The course schedule must include the topics covered and must have a full time breakdown for the course.
The MCLE Rules state the Idaho State Bar must review CLE activities and approve activities consistent with the following standards:
- The activity shall have significant intellectual or practical content, and the primary objective shall be to increase the attorney’s professional competence and ability to deliver quality legal services in an efficient, competent and ethical manner;
- The activity shall constitute an organized program of learning that addresses matters directly related to the practice of law, professional responsibility or ethical obligations of attorneys, provided:
- Courses included in the curriculum of a college or university undergraduate degree program do not qualify for accreditation as a CLE activity; and
- An attorney may receive credit for attendance at a non-legal educational program if the subject of that program relates specifically to the attorney’s area of practice. For example, credit may be given for attendance at a medical-related program if the attorney’s practice includes medical malpractice;
- The activity shall be conducted by an individual or group qualified by practical or academic experience in the covered subjects;
- The activity may include video, digital content or other presentation formats;
- Materials used in the activity shall be thorough and of high quality, and should be distributed to participants prior to or during the activity; and
- The activity may address law practice management to promote the efficient and competent delivery of legal services; however, no CLE credit shall be approved for marketing, client cultivation, general time management or stress reduction, computer training that is not specific to attorneys, general business topics, or vendor-sponsored activities designed solely to promote products or services.
Where are the MCLE applications?
The applications for MCLE credit are available on our website:
- Course Credit Application
- Teaching Credit Application
- Published Legal Writing Credit Application
Other MCLE forms are available on the MCLE Forms page.
What is application fee?
The application fee is $40. Non-profit course providers who apply for accreditation of live CLE activities that are two (2) hours or less in length and held in Idaho shall pay a reduced application fee of $20. No application fee is required for applications submitted by the Idaho Supreme Court, the Bar and its sections or district bar associations, the Idaho Law Foundation, Inc., or individual members of the Idaho State Bar. Application fees cannot be paid by credit card.
Is there a late fee?
The $15 late fee is required for all applications received more than ninety (90) days after a course was completed. For attorneys, the ninety (90) days is based on the date the live or recorded course was completed. For course providers, the ninety (90) days is based on the date the live course was completed or the date the recording was made.
Can I use a different application form than what is on this website?
While we prefer our own application forms, the Oracle Form 1: Uniform Application for Accreditation of Continuing Legal Education Activity may be used as long as all of the information requested on our application forms is included.
How are the credits calculated?
Idaho uses a 60 minute hour and credits are rounded to the nearest quarter hour. No credit will be given for time spent in introductory remarks, coffee and food breaks, business meetings, or other activities that do not involve educational aspects of the CLE activity; courses attended in preparation for, or prior to, admission to the practice of law; courses included in the curriculum of a college or university undergraduate degree program; or courses on marketing, client cultivation, general time management or stress reduction, computer training that is not specific to attorneys, general business topics, or vendor-sponsored activities designed solely to promote products or services.
How are Ethics credits calculated?
Ethics credits may be granted for the following topics: Idaho Rules of Professional Conduct, professionalism and civility, client trust account administration and legal malpractice prevention. The specific ethics topics and times must be clearly indicated on the course schedule to receive approval. If the ethics topics and times are not clearly delineated, ethics credits will not be granted.
What if a course is approved in another state?
Accreditation in another state does not mean that a course will be automatically accredited in Idaho. Application for Idaho MCLE accreditation must be made.
Does accreditation expire?
Accreditation will be good for the calendar year in which it was given. A new application does not have to be submitted if the course is held again within the same calendar year and if it is exactly the same (same topics, same times and same speakers). Written notification of the new courses dates should be submitted as soon as they are scheduled. If a course is held again in the following calendar year, it must be applied for again.
What if a course was recorded and I watched it afterwards?
Recorded courses (on disk, online or downloaded) may qualify for Idaho MCLE credit. Use the Course Credit Application Form and include a description of the legal education topics and the length of the recording in minutes. The number of credits approved in another state does not suffice as the recording length. A schedule from the original live presentation is acceptable as long is it is accompanied by a statement from the course provider that the tape is an exact copy of the original course with no editing or changing. Text based computer courses do not qualify for Idaho MCLE credit.
Do speakers or teachers get credit?
Idaho State Bar members who teach other attorneys at ISB approved courses may apply for teaching credit after the course is held. To apply for credit, submit an Application for Teaching Credit along with a complete course schedule. The course schedule must include the topics covered, a full time breakdown for the course and must show what portions the attorney taught. Allow 3-4 weeks for processing.
Can I get credit for publishing a legal writing?
Published legal writing authored by attorneys may qualify for CLE credit if the writing contributes to the attorney’s legal education; is intended for an attorney audience; and is an original writing that is published, in print or electronically, in a professional legal journal or publication. To apply for credit, submit an Application for Published Legal Writing Credit along with a copy of the writing. Allow 3-4 weeks for processing. For more information, visit our Published Legal Writing Credit page.
Are there any special instructions for course sponsors/providers to complete after the program?
Course providers who apply for accreditation are required to provide a list of the Idaho attorneys who attended their courses. The list must include the attorneys’ printed name, Idaho State Bar number and the total number of general credits and, if applicable, ethics credits earned by each participant. We ask all course providers to use the Attendance List Excel Spreadsheet and email a copy of the spreadsheet to our office. Please email Kim Wilson to obtain this spreadsheet. However we will accept attendance lists that include the required information.
What if the course sponsor/provider hasn’t submitted the attendance list yet?
Attorneys may submit certificates of attendance or completion if an attendance list has not been received from the course provider. If no attendance list or certificate of attendance is available, attorneys may submit a Self-Verification of Attendance Form.