Official Government Website

Bar Exam



February 2021 Bar Exam Will Be Administered Online

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the Idaho State Bar will administer the February 2021 Idaho bar exam online. The online exam will be a full Uniform Bar Examination with scaling and scoring conducted in the same manner as an in-person UBE. Applicants sitting for all portions of the exam will earn a transferrable UBE score.

ExamSoft, the software provider for the February 2021 remote bar exam, has created FAQs, Lighting Tips and a Remote Proctoring Guide to assist in your preparations for the online bar exam.

The February 2021 bar exam will be administered on February 23 and 24, 2021 according to the following schedule (Note all times are Mountain Time zone, and you will take the exam according to these times even if you are geographically located outside the Mountain Time zone):

Tuesday, February 23Wednesday, February 24
9-10:30am – MEE 1-39-10:30am – MBE 1-50
10:30am-11am – Break10:30am-11am – Break
11am-12:30pm – MEE 4-611am-12:30pm – MBE 51-100
12:30-2pm – Lunch Break12:30-2pm – Lunch Break
2-3:30pm – MPT 12-3:30pm – MBE 101-150
3:30-4pm – Break3:30-4pm Break
4-5:30pm – MPT 24-5:30pm – MBE 151-200

Results from the February 2021 bar exam will be released on our website at 3:00 p.m. on April 14, 2021.

We will update this page with additional information in the upcoming weeks. If you have questions about the Idaho Bar Exam, please contact Maureen Ryan Braley, Associate Director, by email or by phone at 208-955-8885.

See also the Idaho Supreme Court’s Order amending the deferral rules through the February 2021 bar exam to temporarily waive the deferral fee and limit on the number of deferrals an applicant can request.

The Bar Exam is given twice a year, the last Tuesday and Wednesday of February and July.  Deadlines for timely filing are October 1 for the February exam and March 1 for the July exam.  Late deadlines are November 15 for the February exam and April 15 for the July exam.

Upcoming Examinations

October 2020

October 5-6 – online

February 2021
February 23 & 24 – Boise, Idaho
Boise Centre – 850 W. Front St.

July 2021
July 27 & 28 – Boise, Idaho / Moscow, Idaho
TBD – Boise, ID

University of Idaho College of Law
711 S. Rayburn Drive, Moscow, ID


Apply to take the Idaho Bar Exam using the Idaho State Bar Admissions Application. Click HERE for the application, instructions on how to complete the application, and other required forms.

Questions about the application process? Contact Maureen Ryan Braley, Associate Director, or Belinda Brown, Admissions Analyst, at (208) 334-4500.


February 2021 Application:
Timely Deadline – October 1, 2020
Late Deadline – November 15, 2020

July 2021 Application:
Timely Deadline – March 1, 2021
Late Deadline – April 15, 2021

Applications must be received by the Idaho State Bar on the deadline date.

February 2021
Reasonable Accommodation Forms – November 15, 2020

February 2021
Reexamination Forms (for applicants unsuccessful on July 2020 exam) – November 15, 2020


Student:  $600.00
Late Fee:  $200.00
Attorney: $800.00
Late Fee:  $200.00

Late fees will be assessed on any application received by the Idaho Bar after the timely deadline.

Laptop: $125.00
Unsuccessful Form: $200.00 – $300.00 (Idaho Bar Commission Rule 218)
Deferral: $100.00

Topic Information

Idaho administers the Uniform Bar Examination (UBE).  The National Conference of Bar Examiners prepares the UBE.  For a list of topics tested on the UBE, go to

Address Change

It is important that you keep your mailing and email addresses up to date with the Idaho State Bar so we can make sure you receive important information.  Please contact Belinda Brown to update your address.

Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) Scores

Score Transfers:  The Idaho State Bar will accept transferred MBE scores earned in another jurisdiction or from a previous unsuccessful attempt at the Idaho Bar Exam.  The MBE must have been taken within 37 months prior to the date of the Idaho bar examination for which an applicant is applying.  It is the applicant’s responsibility to contact the other jurisdiction and request the score be transferred to the Idaho State Bar office.  Idaho recommends that only MBE scaled scores of 136 or higher be transferred. (Idaho Bar Commission Rule 217(c)).

MBE Exemption for Attorneys:  An attorney applicant for the Idaho Bar Exam is exempt from having to take the MBE if the attorney applicant has been actively practicing law for at least three of the last five years.

Please note that if you transfer an MBE score or elect to use the MBE exemption and sit only for the essay portion of the Idaho Bar Exam, you will not earn a UBE score.

Score Requests:  Applicants taking the MBE in Idaho may obtain MBE scores by mailing or emailing a written request to Maureen Ryan Braley, Associate Director. Requests must include the date of the exam and a current address.  Idaho does not release individual essay scores to successful applicants.

Transfer of MBE Scores to Other Jurisdictions:  The Idaho State Bar will transfer your MBE score to admitting authorities in other jurisdictions. To request your score to be transferred, please submit a written request including the following information:

  1. Name and address of the admitting agency;
  2. The date you took the MBE in Idaho (i.e. February 2017 exam);
  3. Your name and current address;
  4. And indicate whether you would like a copy of the transfer notice sent to you.

Essay Examination

The essay examination consists of the Multistate Essay Examination (MEE) and the Multistate Performance Test (MPT). The MEE is six questions administered in a three-hour session on Tuesday morning. The MPT is administered on Tuesday afternoon and consists of two questions in a three-hour session. Past MEE and MPT questions are available from the National Conference of Bar Examiners at

Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE)

Prior to taking the bar exam or within the next two Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination administrations after successfully completing the bar exam, an applicant must take the MPRE and receive a minimum scaled score of 85.  Idaho Bar Commission Rule 202(b).  For MPRE application packets and further information, contact the National Conference of Bar Examiners and register online at

Bar Examination Scoring and Grading Standards

Qualifications for Admission – Idaho Bar Commission Rule 202

Qualifications. Before receiving permission to take the bar examination and for admission to practice law in Idaho, the Applicant must:

  1. Be at least eighteen years of age;
  2. Be lawfully admitted to this country;
  3. Have, or will have received, a juris doctorate or bachelor of laws degree or an equivalent basic law degree from an Approved Law School. Submission of a law school transcript in a form satisfactory to the Board shall be considered compliance with this Rule;
  4. Have demonstrated the essential eligibility requirements to practice law pursuant to Rule 201 and have met all requirements in the Admission Rules; and
  5. Be a person of good moral character.

Idaho Bar Commission Rules

ver: 3.4.0 | last updated: