2023 Richard C. Fields Civility Award Nominations – Deadline 10/20

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2023 Richard C. Fields Civility Award  through Friday, October 20, 2023.

The Idaho State Bar Professionalism & Ethics Section presents the Richard C. Fields Civility Award each year in honor of Dick Fields who was consistently recognized for his service, professionalism, and leadership within the Idaho State Bar and was known in the legal community as an advocate for civility in the practice of law. Dick received the Idaho State Bar’s Distinguished Lawyer Award in 2000 and chaired the Dean’s Advisory Council at Concordia Law since its inception in 2009, until his passing in April 2014. In honor of Dick’s memory and the legacy he left for future generations of lawyers in Idaho, this award is presented to an Idaho lawyer who demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and civility in the profession. 

  • Nominations are accepted from anyone who knows and is familiar with the attorney.  In the past, great nominations have been received from judges, legal assistants/paralegals, law clerks and community members.
  • Any attorney, who primarily practices in Idaho, who demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and civility and is an example to his or her peers is eligible for a nomination.  The selection committee kindly asks you to refrain from nominating an attorney posthumously or a member of the judiciary, even though both categories undisputedly have several qualified nominees.
  • Nomination submission information is up to the person nominating.  Nominations can be a few sentences about the person being nominated and why he or she is qualified or a formal letter.  Numerous people can get together and submit a nomination “packet” for one person, or each person can submit his or her own nomination.  Information about activities participated in and/or examples or conduct which you believe demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and civility are helpful to the selection committee.

Email nominations by October 20th to the Chair of the Professionalism and Ethics Section, Texie Montoya.

To view a list of previous recipients, select: Richard C. Fields Civility Award Past Recipients.