North Idaho attorneys receive awards at the First District Bar Annual Resolution Meeting


October 31, 2018-The Idaho State Bar will present four awards to North Idaho attorneys at the First District Bar Annual Resolution Meeting scheduled for Thursday, November 1. The meeting will be held at Honey Eatery and Social Club, 317 E. Sherman Avenue in Coeur d’Alene, beginning at Noon.

  • Michael E. Ramsden with Ramsden, Marfice, Ealy & Harris will receive the Professionalism Award. Mr. Ramsden was admitted into the Idaho State Bar in 1979 and has extensive experience in the areas of civil litigation, medical malpractice defense, product liability defense, insurance law, personal injury defense, and civil rights litigation. He is active in the Bar’s Litigation Section and mentors newer attorneys bi-annually at the Trial Skills Academy. Mr. Ramsden is a Fellow in the American College of Trial Lawyers, a member of the International Association of Defense Counsel, the Defense Research Institute and the Idaho Association of Defense Counsel. He is a graduate of the University of Idaho College of Law.

The Idaho State Bar Professionalism Awards are given to at least one attorney in each of Idaho’s seven judicial districts who has engaged in extraordinary activity in his or her community, in the state, or in the profession, which reflects the highest standards of professionalism.

  • Michael T. Howard will receive the Denise O’Donnell Day Pro Bono Award for his legal representation in a guardianship case. Mr. Howard represented a maternal aunt who petitioned for guardianship of her nephew, who mother was battling with drug addiction. An Idaho native practicing law since 1999, Mr. Howard, the current president of the Idaho State Bar, is a Principal with Winston & Cashatt. He graduated from the University of Idaho College of Law.

The Denise O’Donnell Day Pro Bono Awards are presented to the person(s) from each judicial district that have donated extraordinary time and effort to help clients who are unable to pay for services.

  • Saviraj “Savi” Grewal of Coeur d’Alene will receive an Idaho State Bar Service Award. Grewal is a solo practitioner with the Law Office of Savi Grewal and is immediate past chairperson of the Idaho State Bar’s Commercial Law & Bankruptcy Section. Highlights of her service also include: Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) volunteer, past president of the John P. Gray Inn of Court, past president of the First District Bar Association, and Law Day volunteer.
  • Coeur d’Alene attorney Janell Burke will receive an Idaho State Bar Service Award. Burke is a former chairperson of the Kootenai County Bar Association and former president of the First District Bar Association. She is former board member for the John P. Gray Inn of Court and served from 2011 to 2014 on the Idaho State Bar’s Professional Conduct Board. Burke is active in planning judicial retirement gatherings and various bar related events in the Coeur d’Alene area.

Service Awards are given each year to lawyers and non-lawyers for exemplary service to the Idaho State Bar and/or Idaho Law Foundation.