

Admissions Department 525 West Jefferson, Boise, ID 83702 PO Box 895, Boise, ID 83701 (208) 334-4500 Website: www.idaho.gov/isb

# JULY 2019 BAR EXAMINATION APPLICATION FILING INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION

These instructions apply to persons submitting an application for Examination and Admission to the Idaho State Bar. Please retain a copy of these instructions for future reference. All applicants are responsible for reading the Idaho Bar Commission Rules governing admission to practice law in the state of Idaho. These rules can be found on the Idaho State Bar Website at http://www.isb.idaho.gov/general/rules/ibcr.html.

### **BAR EXAMINATION APPLICANT QUALIFICATIONS:**

Before receiving permission to take the bar examination and for admission to practice law in Idaho, the Applicant must:

- 1. Be at least eighteen years of age;
- 2. Be lawfully admitted to this country;
- 3. Have, or will have received, a juris doctorate or bachelor of laws degree or an equivalent basic law degree from an Approved Law School;
- 4. Have demonstrated the essential eligibility requirements to practice law pursuant to Rule 201 and have met all requirements in the Admission Rules;
- 5. Be a person of good moral character;
- 6. Prior to taking the Idaho bar examination, or within the next two scheduled MPRE administrations after successfully completing the Idaho bar examination, the Applicant must take the MPRE and receive a minimum scaled score of 85.

### JULY 2019 LOCATIONS AND EXAMINATION DATES:

The July 2019 Idaho bar examination will be held in downtown Boise, Idaho, at Concordia University School of Law, and in Moscow, Idaho, at the University of Idaho College of Law.

Multistate Essay Examination (MEE)	Tuesday Morning, July 30, 2019
Multistate Performance Test (MPT)	Tuesday Afternoon, July 30, 2019
Multistate Bar Examination (MBE)	Wednesday, July 31, 2019

### JULY 2019 APPLICATION DEADLINES & FEES:

Applications must be received in the Idaho State Bar office on the deadline date. Postmarked applications do not qualify. If the deadline date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, the deadline date will be the first business day thereafter. (Make checks payable to Idaho State Bar. We do not take credit or debit cards.)

Pursuant to Idaho Bar Commission Rules 203(c)(3), no refund, in whole or in part, shall be made of an examination fee, investigation fee, or late filing fee.

	Student	Attorney
Timely Filing Deadline: March 1, 2019		
Applications received in the Idaho State Bar office after 5:00 pm Mountain Time on March 1, 2019 will be assessed a late fee.		
Application Fees	\$600.00	\$800.00
Late Deadline: April 15, 2019		
Applications received in the Idaho State Bar office after 5:00 pm Mountain Time on		
April 15, 2019, will not be considered for this exam and will be returned.		
Late Fees: March 2, 2019 – April 15, 2019	\$200.00	\$200.00
A late fee will be assessed on any application received in the Idaho State Bar Office after March 1, 2019		

### **REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION REQUESTS:**

Qualified applicants claiming a disability that necessitates additional testing accommodations or additional time to complete the examination must file a Reasonable Accommodations Application along with all the supporting documentation. The burden of proof is on the applicant to show the need for any additional testing accommodations. The Idaho State Bar reserves the right to make final determinations concerning testing accommodations and may have documentation reviewed by a medical specialist, psychologist or neuropsychologist at the expense of the Idaho State Bar. Applicants are advised that costs incurred in establishing a disability are the responsibility of the applicant.

In order for a request for reasonable accommodations to be considered by the Bar, all the forms pertaining to the request must be completed by the appropriate parties and returned to the Idaho State Bar. It is preferable that all of the forms be returned at the same time. However, if there are circumstances that prevent an applicant from submitting the supporting affidavits or documents in a timely manner, the applicant should indicate on a cover letter the anticipated date and from whom these documents are being sent.

All forms must be received in the Idaho State Bar office no later than April 15, 2019, for the July 2019 exam. Application forms are located on the Idaho State Bar website at http://www.isb.idaho.gov/.

### Mail or Deliver all applications to:

Idaho State Bar P.O. Box 895 525 West Jefferson Boise, ID 83702

### **EXAMINATION INFORMATION:**

**Essay Examination:** Six Multistate Essay Examination (MEE) questions are given on Tuesday morning in a three-hour session. The Multistate Performance Test (MPT) is administered on Tuesday afternoon and consists of two questions given in a three-hour session. Information about the subjects tested on the MEE and study guides for the MEE and the MPT can be found on the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) website at www.ncbex.org.

#### Multistate Bar Examination (MBE):

The Multistate Bar Examination (MBE) is a six-hour, two hundred question multiple choice examination covering contracts, torts, constitutional law, criminal law and procedure, evidence, civil procedure, and real property and is administered on Wednesday morning and afternoon. Information and study guides for the MBE can be found on the National Conference of Bar Examiners website at <u>www.ncbex.org</u>.

**Transferring Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) Scores:** If all components of the Idaho bar examination (the MEE, MPT and MBE) are taken in the same examination administration and given according to the standards established by the NCBE, the examination qualifies as the Uniform Bar Examination (UBE). Applicants will receive a UBE score that is transferrable to other UBE jurisdictions according to that jurisdiction's score transfer requirements. In order to learn your UBE score, or to transfer your UBE score to Idaho or to another UBE jurisdiction, go to <u>http://www.ncbex.org</u>.

**Transferring Multistate Bar Exam (MBE) Scores**: The Idaho State Bar will accept MBE scores from another jurisdiction if the MBE has been taken within 37 months of the exam for which the applicant is applying. It is the applicant's responsibility to contact the other jurisdiction and request the score be transferred to the Idaho State Bar office. Idaho recommends that only MBE scaled scores of 136 or higher be transferred. *[Idaho Bar Commission Rule 217(c)]* 

#### Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE):

The Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination is a sixty question, two hour and five minute multiple-choice examination administered three times each year. Idaho requires that all applicants receive a minimum scaled score of 85. Applicants may: (1) transfer a passing scaled score prior to successfully passing the Idaho bar examination, or (2) take the MPRE within the next two MPRE administrations after successfully passing the Idaho bar examination and ask that the scaled score be sent to the Idaho State Bar. *[Idaho Bar Commission Rule 202(b)]*. Information, test dates, online registration, study guides and score transfer information can be found on the National Conference of Bar Examiners website at www.ncbex.org.

#### Laptop Computers:

The Idaho State Bar offers applicants the opportunity to take the essay portion of the exam using a personal laptop computer utilizing ExamSoft software. Download the registration form from the Idaho State Bar Website. For general software information, access ExamSoft at <u>www.examsoft.com/idbar</u>.

**Bar Exam Review Courses:** This information is provided for your convenience only. No Bar Review Course is "approved" or "endorsed" by the Idaho State Bar.

Bar/Bri Bar Review-www.barbri.com; AmeriBar-www.ameribar.com; MicroMash Barwww.micromash.com; Kaplan PMBR (*Multistate Bar Review*)-www.pmbr.com; Reed Multistate Bar Review, Inc.-www.reedbarreview.com; MBE study aid (MBE-AP) National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE) www.ncbex.org/mbe-ap.

# **INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE APPLICATION AND FORMS:**

(This application can only be submitted for the July 2019 Idaho Bar Examination.)

## **GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS:**

- Your application must be legible and be an original. Only original applications printed from the Idaho State Bar website or received from the Idaho State Bar will be accepted. Copies or scanned applications will not be accepted. The Idaho State Bar charges a \$25.00 fee to obtain a copy of a previously submitted application.
- **2.** Read the entire application and all supplementary forms carefully before making any entries. Give complete answers. Do not leave any spaces blank. If a question is not applicable, indicate with "Not Applicable".
- **3.** You must respond completely and provide all relevant details and documents for each and every question on the application. If the question asks you to provide names, dates, numbers, details, or documents, you must provide them within the stated timeframe. If no response is given or if insufficient information is provided in response to any question, your application may be delayed or denied.
- **4.** Be sure to sign and notarize the application and all forms that require a notarized signature.
- 5. You must update your application if anything occurs after submission that would change or alter any of your answers to the questions on the application. Your application must be kept current to the date of admission. Delay in updating your application may result in denial or deferral.
- 6. You must notify the Idaho State Bar of any address or name changes.
- 7. If supplemental sheets are used to complete answers, please provide all the requested information asked for in the question and label each supplemental sheet with the relevant question number. Submit all relevant documents with the application or indicate when they will be forthcoming. Please do not include copies of request letters with your application.

# **SPECIFIC QUESTION INSTRUCTIONS:**

- Questions 5 & 10 Residences and Employment: Submit the requested information for each residence or place of employment. There should be no gaps in dates between residences or between places of employment. List all dates of unemployment in the required format. Please follow the format in the application and complete supplemental sheets as necessary. Please note that if you do not submit complete information for these questions, your application will be delayed.
- Question 8 Transcripts and law school verification: Request certified copies of your transcripts from all the colleges/universities and law schools you have attended to be sent directly to the Idaho State Bar. Current law students must submit the verification described in Question 8 from the law school.
- Question 14 Certificates of Good Standing Attorney Applicants: Request a Certificate of Good Standing from each jurisdiction where you have been admitted containing all of the information requested in the application be sent directly to the Idaho State Bar. Certificates must be dated no more than thirty days prior to the date you submit your application. A discipline history must be included. You may need to request the discipline history from a different agency than the agency responsible for the Certificate of Good Standing. Please check with each jurisdiction.
- Questions 19-37 Character and Fitness: If you fail to provide full and complete details to these questions and all the documentation required by each question, your application may be delayed or denied. Be sure to attach all supplemental sheets and supporting documentation for each question answered yes. If you are unable to submit the supporting documentation with your application, include a statement indicating when it will be received by the Idaho State Bar.
- Question 29 Credit Report: If you answered yes to this question, submit a current credit report with your application. Credit agencies to contact for a credit report are:

Experian	www.experian.com	888-397-3742
Equifax	www.equifax.com	800-685-1111
Trans Union Corporation	www.tuc.com	800-888-4213

If you have satisfied past due accounts, you must submit confirmation from the creditor that each account has been paid.

If you have been late in paying student loans, you must submit confirmation from the loan provider that your loans are in good standing.

# **REQUIRED FORMS:**

- Character and Fitness Reference Forms (Questions 18 & 38) You are responsible for mailing your Character and Fitness Reference Forms to each reference for Questions 18 and 38 and following up to make sure that each reference has returned a form to the Idaho State Bar. Be sure that your name is listed on each form and that you have submitted references who qualify under each question. If you are an attorney applicant and do not have client references for Question 18, please submit an explanation as to why you cannot submit those reference forms. Question 38 specifically states that three of the five references must be ones that have known you for at least five years. These forms must be sent directly from the reference to the Idaho State Bar.
- Authorization and Release Forms Complete and submit two notarized original forms.
- **Consent to Release Forms** Complete and submit two notarized originals for each law school attended. The Idaho State Bar will submit these to the law schools. The Idaho State Bar is not ordering your law school transcripts with the Consent to Release Records Forms that you submit with this application. You must order your transcripts directly from each law school.
- **Test Information Sheet** Complete all requested information and submit with your application. This information will be used to secure a place for you at the bar examination.
- **Fingerprint Card** You must obtain this card from the Idaho State Bar. You will receive a confirmation post card with your fingerprint card. This can be submitted with your completed application for immediate notification that the Idaho State Bar has received your application. Be sure to follow the instructions listed on the next page for completing your fingerprint card to avoid delay in processing your application.

### **FINGERPRINT CARD:**

The fingerprint card must be obtained from the Idaho State Bar and stamped for the Idaho State Bar in the "Reason Fingerprinted" field. To order a fingerprint card, click on the fingerprint link on our website and request that a card be sent to you. Please be sure to submit your name, complete mailing address and the fact that you are applying for the bar examination. Fingerprints must have been taken no more than ninety days before the date you submit your application.

If the following information is not on the card or if the fingerprints were taken more than ninety days before the date the Idaho State Bar receives your application, the card will be returned to you for completion or for a new fingerprint card. If you have any questions regarding submitting a correct fingerprint card, please contact the Idaho State Bar Admissions Department.

Complete the following information on the top half of the card in black ink:

- name
- signature
- address
- employer name and address
- Aliases: Enter all names by which you have been known (maiden, etc.)
- Citizenship
- sex: M or F
- Race: Optional
- height
- weight
- eye color
- hair color
- date of birth
- place of birth
- social security number: Optional

You must complete all the above information to avoid a delay in processing your card and application. You must obtain your card from the Idaho State Bar and it must be stamped for the Idaho State Bar in the "Reason Fingerprinted" field. Contact a local law enforcement agency for completion of the fingerprint card. Some agencies have set hours for fingerprinting; there also may be a fee involved. Be sure that the official taking your fingerprints signs and dates the card.

Return this card with your application. We suggest that you wait until you are ready to send in your application to obtain your fingerprints so that your card won't be rejected.

**Receipt of Application:** A confirmation postcard is included with the fingerprint card. Be sure to put a stamp on the card as well as your address and submit it with your completed application for immediate notification that the Idaho State Bar has received your application.

# **APPLICATION MATERIALS CHECKLIST:**

### Submit the following documents and fee on or before the filing deadlines:

1. Completed Original Application – Please do not bind or staple any part of this application.

Please note: You must file the original copy of the completed application; only original, legible applications will be accepted. Copies or scanned applications will not be accepted and will be returned. Please retain a copy of your completed application for your records. The Idaho State Bar charges a \$25.00 fee for all copies of previously submitted applications.

- 2. Correct Application Fee
- **3. Completed Fingerprint Card** (Complete all personal information.) This card will be submitted to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation by the Idaho State Bar.
- 4. All Supplemental Sheets
- 5. Two Authorization and Release Forms
- 6. Consent To Release Student Records (Two originals for each law school attended.) The Idaho State Bar will submit these to the law schools. Please note: The Idaho State Bar is not ordering your law school transcripts with the Consent to Release Records Forms that you submit with this application. You must order them directly from each law school.
- 7. Test Information Sheet
- 8. Law School Verification (Current law school students only)
- 9. All Character & Fitness documents or a statement when they will be forthcoming.
- 10. Self addressed stamped post card received with the fingerprint card.

### Order the following to be submitted directly to the Idaho State Bar by June 17, 2019:

- 1. MBE transferred scaled scores and MPRE scaled score
- 2. All college and university transcripts (Submitted by school(s))
- **3.** All Law School Transcripts (Submitted by school(s)) Please note: Because some law schools are not able to meet the above deadline, the Idaho State Bar must receive a certified copy of your law school transcript showing satisfactory completion and award of a degree at least ten (10) days prior to the bar examination or you will not be allowed to sit.
- **4.** Certificate(s) of Good Standing including a complete discipline history. (Attorney applicants only-submitted by the jurisdiction)
- 5. Idaho State Bar Reference Forms (Submitted by each reference)

Please do not contact the Idaho State Bar Admissions Department regarding the status of your application until after you receive a confirmation letter and status sheet showing what documents we have received and what documents you still need to provide to the Idaho State Bar.