E-Filing in Idaho and Envelope Fees



🕋 Actions -

Dashboard

Filing History

Templates Service Contacts

Bookmarks

Admin Dashboard

Contact Information

Filing History Search

Reports

Users

Help

Attorneys

Start a New Case

File Into Existing Case

WHAT IS AN "ENVELOPE" AND WHY DOES IT INVOLVE A FEE?



When parties in a civil court case in Idaho electronically submit case documents for filing, the e-filing software provider, Tyler Technologies, charges a fee. This fee is for processing each set of filings through what are called "electronic envelopes."

Beginning Dec. 15, 2023, civil filers will pay this fee of \$5 per envelope.

WHO IS EXEMPT?

This fee does not apply in criminal cases, nor does it apply to service-only envelopes.

Filers who are exempt from paying court filing fees under the Idaho Constitution, statute, court rule, court order or other regulation also will not be charged this envelope fee. That list includes:

Users:

- Government agencies and filers who represent the state of Idaho
- Indigent filers as formally designated by a court
- Pro bono filers as identified in Idaho Rule of Civil Procedure 10.1 and Idaho Rule of Family Law Procedure 201(e)
- Mediators
- Supervised access providers
 Parenting time evaluators, mental health evaluators,
- domestic violence evaluators, and similar roles
 Guardians ad litem
- Court-appointed special advocates
- Filers who file documents at the request or under the auspices of a court, as described in ICAR 32(g)(17)

Case types:

- Petitions for civil protection orders under Idaho Code sections 18–7907, 39–6304 or 39–6306A
- Child protective cases
- Commitment cases brought under chapters 3 or 4 of Title 66, Idaho Code
- All administrative case types

HOW DO I FILE IF I AM EXEMPT FROM THIS FEE?

If you are a filer who is exempt from paying the \$5 e-filing fee *or* you are filing in a case type or a document that is exempt, you will need to set up and use a no-fee or "waiver" payment account in your File & Serve account. This is an easy process (though attorneys, please note your firm administrator is the only one who can add or amend payment accounts):

- Go to the big, orange "Actions" button and select "Payment Accounts."
- 2. Then click "+ Add Payment Account."
- 3. Give your new account a name. Users often simply name it "Fee Exemption."
- Select "Payment Account Type." One of your options will be "Waiver" – pick that.
- 5. Click "Save Changes." Now, the account will be available for you to select whenever you file.

When you are filing something exempt from the fee and get to

 the payment account question, just select your waiver account as the account you want to use to pay for the filing.



Search "Odyssey File and Serve" at *https://vimeo.com/search* or <u>follow this</u> <u>link</u> for an Idaho Supreme Court video that, around 6 minutes and 45 seconds in, shows setting up a waiver account.

