Intellectual Property Law Section Minutes October 15, 2020 12:00 -1:00 PM Via Web Conference

- Welcome
- Introductions
- Results of the recent Officer Elections:
 - o Chair: Matthew R. Harvey (Holland & Hart)
 - o Secretary: Alexandra Hodson (Parsons Behle & Latimer)
 - o Treasurer: Kathryn A. Weiser (Boise State University)
 - o Northern Vice Chair: Beck C. Roan (Flammia & Solomon, PC)
 - o Eastern Vice Chair: Thomas J. Katsilometes (Thomas J. Katsilometes PLLC)
 - o Southern Vice Chair: No nominations received in time for the recent election.
- Thank you to the outgoing officers:
 - o Chair: Elizabeth Herbst Schierman (TraskBritt, PC)
 - o Secretary: Beck Roan (Flammia & Solomon, PC)
 - o Northern Vice Chair: Romney J. Hogaboam (Hogaboam Law Offices, PLLC)
 - o Southern Vice Chair: Tim Murphy (University of Michigan Law School)
- Review Previous Business:
 - o August 20, 2020 meeting minutes
 - Motion: to approve August meeting minutes (Elizabeth Schierman); Second (Beck Roan)
 - Motion carries: meeting minutes from August 20 approved
- Items for Vote:
 - Southern Vice Chair Position
 - Motion: to approve Tom Katsilometes as Eastern Vice Chair and Jaxon Munns as Southern Vice Chair (Elizabeth Schierman); Second (Romney Hogaboam)
 - Motion carries: Tom Katsilometes is Eastern Vice Chair and Jaxon Munns is Southern Vice Chair
- Sponsorship of Edition of the Advocate Journal
 - o Potential to co-sponsor with another Bar section.
 - Open discussion regarding members' thoughts on sponsorship
 - o Need 6 articles to sponsor whole issue
 - o Call for members to reach out to Matt Harvey if willing to write an article
- Open call for CLE speakers and topics for December Section meeting and onward
- Access to Justice has requested a donation.
 - o Open discussion regarding whether we should make a donation.
 - We already approved a \$500 donation this year.
 - We will not provide an additional donation this year.
- ACE requested a donation as well, which was tabled previously.
 - o There was not interest in making a donation, so we will not vote on it.
- Good of the Order
- CLE Presentation:
 - o "USPTO Patent Appeals and New Fast-Track Appeals Pilot Program"—Celia Leber, Leber IP Law (0.50 hr CLE)
- Adjourn

Attendees:

Matthew Harvey

Elizabeth Schierman

Alex Hodson

Becky Taylor-Brooks

Tom Katsilometes

Chris Cuneo

Michael Gilmore

Beck Roan

Romney Hogaboam

Teague Donahey

Patrick Kole

Steve Johnson

Matt Montgomery

Ryan Marshall

Robert Winkle

Erika Melanson

Katy Weiser

Tony Baca

Alex Baca

Ben Hoopes

Matt Wade

Jaxon Munns