Minutes of the Meeting of the Business and Corporate Law Section of the Idaho State Bar

May 13, 2020

Call to Order; Attendance

A telephonic meeting of the Business and Corporate Law Section (the "Section") of the Idaho State Bar was called to order at approximately 12:00 p.m. on May 13, 2020 at the offices of the Idaho State Bar. Section Governing Council ("Council") members present were Matt Christensen, Cody Earl, Eric Taylor, Wendy Couture, Louis Spiker, David Jensen and Brian Buckham. Mr. Christensen presided over the meeting as Chair.

Approval of the Minutes

As the first order of business, Mr. Christensen requested a motion approving the minutes of the meeting held on April 8, 2020, which had been distributed to Section members prior to the meeting and to attendees at the meeting. After a motion duly made and seconded, the members of the Section unanimously approved the minutes of the meetings.

Annual Meeting

The Section's Vice-Chair, Cody Earl, announced that due to the COVID-19 virus, the annual meeting date for the Section was moved to August 21, 2020. The Section plans on still having the annual meeting at JUMP, but the situation is in flux with COVID-19 and may have certain distancing requirements and other restrictions, and a virtual CLE is possible. Fees for attendance may be revised accordingly, but that topic is in discussion.

Financial Update

The Section's Treasurer and Secretary Eric Taylor provided an update on the status of the Section's finances. He noted that the most recent balance sheet available at the end of April of 2020 was \$39,652.

Announcements

Governing council member Wendy Couture announced the winners of the writing contest in which the Section had donated and allocated \$2,500 to the University of Idaho College of Law. There were three (3) winners total.

Matt Christensen announced that as usual, the Section will not be meeting in the months of June, July and August (aside from the August 21, 2020 annual meeting and CLE that is scheduled).

Elections

The Section conducted elections for its officers and governing council members. A vote on the following slate of officers and governing council members was conducted:

- a. **Chair** Cody Earl (St Lukes)
- b. **Vice Chair** Eric Taylor (Eberle)
- c. **Secretary/Treasurer** Crystal Berry (Evans Keane)
- d. Governing Council members: Ricky Bower, Ben Layman, Brian Hansen, Brian Buckham, Kari Campos, Wendy Couture, Michelle Gustavson, Gabriel Hamilton, David Hammerquist, David Jensen, Nathan Ohler, Sarah Reed, Claire Rosston, Paul Street; Louis Spiker; Matt Christensen, Cody Earl, Eric Taylor, Crystal Berry
- e. Retiring Governing Council members: Paul Boyd
- f. New Governing Council member: Brian Bean

The Section members voted unanimously in approval of the above officers and governing council members.

May CLE Program

A CLE presentation was given by Matt Christensen, Cody Earl and Eric Taylor regarding changes to business law related topics due to COVID-19. Eric Taylor presented on contract considerations, Cody Earl discussed employment law considerations, and Matt Christensen discussed CARES Act grant forgiveness requirements and bankruptcy law changes and considerations.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 1:00 p.m.

/s/

Eric S. Taylor Secretary/Treasurer