### ISB Family Law Section –

May 9, 2025 | 12:00 p.m. MST | Hosted by: ISB. Attendees:

Via Zoom and in person: Tyler Rounds, Lisa Rodriguez, Patricia Migliuri, Mackenzie Whatcott, Erika Kallin, A Denise Penton, Tyrie Strong, Rutger Vanderlaan, Anya Perret, Katie Meyer, Leah Shotwell, Jen Neyenhouse, Kerry Michaelson, Fran Stern, Jen Schindele

### 1. New Business:

- a. Review of April meeting minutes minutes approved.
- b. Elections results announced: Tyler Rounds is new Chair, Kerry Michaelson is Vice Chair, Secretary is Patricia Migliuri
- c. At large members are announced: Leah Shotwell, Mackenzie Whatcott, Fran Stern, Katelynn Mitchell, Kirstin McLaughlin, Tyrie Strong, Jennifer Schindele
- 2. Resolving old business: none
- 3. Committees/appointments
  - a. 8 seats to fill for committees
    - i. National conference
      - 1. Purpose/updates: Fran Stern will be attending AFCC in New Orleans and will give at least one CLE upon her return
      - 2. Tyler Rounds will be a member, along with Fran Stern and Katelynn Mitchell
    - ii. Annual October CLE
      - 1. Purpose/updates: 2025's annual CLE will be at Hampton Inn in Coeur d'Alene
      - 2. 2026 members: Fran Stern, Tyrie Strong, Leah Shotwell, Jen Schindele, Tyler Rounds, with Kerry Michaelson as chair

#### iii. Other CLE:

- 1. Purpose/updates: Need to schedule a couple of CLEs. Denise Penton volunteered to give a CLE family law basics, immigration and family law CLE too.
- 2. 2026 committee members: Katie Meyer and Mackenzie Whatcott as co-chairs, with Anya Perret, Tyrie Strong, and Jen Neyenhouse as committee members

# iv. Legislative committee

- 1. Purpose/updates: checking legislation that might have impact on family law, and presenting position to the section and board of bar commissioners for approval before taking to the legislature.
- 2. 2026 Committee chair: Mackenzie Whatcott, with members Fran Stern, Jen Neyenhouse, Lisa Rodriguez

#### v. Publications

- 1. Purpose/updates: any form book updates, family law handbook, and Advocate. Advocate article due March 2026 with deadline January 2026. Need to present 4-6 articles. Have Shelly Fulcher-Koonz, Matt Christenson, and Tyrie Strong writing articles. Need more. Denise Penton volunteered to write an article as well.
- 2026 committee: Mackenzie Whatcott chair, Katie Meyer, Patricia Migliuri, Jen Schindele, Kerry Michaelson, Anya Perret, Jen Neyenhouse.

### vi. Technology

- Purpose/updates: monitor listserv and any tech issues that come up, implement a policy related to the type of advertising to be allowed on the listserv, and determine pricing for advertisements on the listserv. Also need to address AI recording of Zoom sessions and meetings.
- 2. Committee members: Chair: Tyler Rounds and members Jen Schindele, Kerry Michaelson, Fran Stern, Leah Shotwell

### vii. Membership

- 1. Purpose/updates: help round up new members. Moscow law school section fair, Boise fair too.
- 2. 2026 committee members: Patricia Migliuri, Katelynn Mitchell, Doug Leavitt, Lisa Rodriguez, Jen Neyenhouse

## viii. Special awards and projects

- 1. Purpose/updates: designates recipient of family law award of distinction, to be presented at October annual CLE and any special projects
- 2. Chair Katelynn Mitchell, members Lisa Rodriguez and Anja Rodriguez

#### 4. Announcements:

a. No meeting this June or July

Next meeting August 8, 2025, at 12:00pm. Mountain Time, to be held via Zoom.