1 ROBERT L. ALDRIDGE, CHARTERED

- 2 Attorney at Law
- 3 1209 North Eighth Street
- 4 Boise, Idaho 83702-4297
- 5 Telephone: (208) 336-9880
- 6 Fax: (208) 336-9882
- 7 State Bar No. 1296
- 8 9

2020 LEGISLATIVE REPORT June 1, 2021

10 This year, the 1st Regular Session of the 66th Idaho Legislature started on Monday January 11, 2021 and still has 11 not gone sine die [for Latin purists, see neigh dee a], although the Senate adjourned sine die late on Wednesday 12 night May 12. The House, however, only recessed. There is a minor problem with certain Idaho Constitution

night May 12. The House, however, only recessed. There is a minor problem with certain Idaho Constitution
provisions on how such things are to work and it may be that the recess by the House canceled the adjournment
by the Senate. The AG seemed ambivilent on that question, but finally felt that the recess cancelled the
adjourment.

There were multiple recesses by both Senate and House this session, including for COVID. I don't even know how to count how many days this session lasted, given all that, but officially they have decided it is 122 days. Seemed like a lot longer. Generally sessions are from 74 to 89 days, shorter in election years. This was my 34th session

19 or so; I have lost count. It may be my last.

- 20 The figures for the session, incomplete at the moment:
- 21 1.The House had 408 bills. The Senate had 220. Both are theoretically done for the year.
- 22 2. 364 bills passed both chambers and became law. Four bills vetoed by Governor Little.

Only about two thirds of RS's ever get printed in most years and generally only about 40% of RS's become law.
Generally about 60% of printed bills become law. This year there were 925 RS's and 675 (73%) got printed and
364 (54%) of those became law.

The number of bills presented in the probate code, tax, and related areas was quite limited. Tax & Estate Professionals of Idaho, Inc., which is a broad-based multi-disciplinary non-profit group, reviews and proposes legislation in the tax and probate code arena. I currently serve as Chairman.

New laws of interest, all of which take effect July 1, 2021, unless otherwise noted (bills which failed or died are noted when appropriate), are below. I reserve the right to ignore bills that are boring and include some that are interesting at whim. Remarks are purely my own and do not represent anyone's official position, probably not even my own.

One interesting thing is that because of some technical requirements and the length of this session, HB 394 had to be drafted to revise effective dates that were otherwise the default of July 1, 2021. Specifically, Article III, Section 22, Idaho Constitution, says that "No act shall take effect until sixty days from the end of the session at which the same shall have been passed, except in case of emergency, which emergency shall be declared in the preamble or in the body of the law". So that date was May 2 for the July 1 effective dates. **LAW**

38 1. PROBATE CODE, TRUSTS, ELDER LAW, AND RELATED AREAS

39 (a) Guardians and Conservators of Minors

401. HB 191a. I stayed out of the way of this bill even though I have grave concerns about it. It permits41a parent or guardian to use the assistance of a temporary care assistance program operated by a

qualified nonprofit organization to identify an appropriate and safe approved temporary caregiver to whom the parent or guardian can choose to delegate temporary care responsibility of a minor through a power of attorney. Amendment added limit of six months and requirement of criminal history and background check through H&W, and that the delegation has to be to the temporary caregiver, not the program itself. And said specifically this does not affect any delegation of powers in §15-5-104 that we created many years ago, or the provisions of the Child Protective Act (Title 16, Chapter 16). This came out of a national religious (sort of) entity that recruits what would otherwise be foster care parents and puts them together with the parent or guardian. Not the parent delegating to a family member or friend. Stay tuned. **LAW**

(b) Developmental Disability

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

Hearing Time periods SB 1036. Part of the ongoing change to time periods in C&G being in 7 day increments. This one, brought by the Supreme Court, covers Developmental Disability cases, changing a 10 day period to 14 days. Want to be sure that time periods don't end up on weekends. **LAW**

15 (c) **Foster Care** HB 336. Passed both houses unanimously. Update laws pertaining to qualified group 16 homes for children in foster care. Specifically, it would:

(1) set a shortened time line for the department and courts to communicate and act on the child's behalf;

(2) prioritize the best interest of the child when determining such placement;

(3) require the department more closely monitor the child when in a group home;

(4) require ongoing evaluation of potential alternative placements such as family reunification, placement with a relative or foster family, or adoption; and,

(5) allows for extended care for youth aging out of the foster care system not to exceed age 21, under limited circumstances.

Two specific objectives: first, to allow juveniles to stay in the system until age 21; second, to comply with federal law to keep over \$2 million dollars in federal payments coming in to Idaho for foster care. There are about 1,600 children in the Idaho foster care system as of 2020. About 19% are there because of family abuse in the home. **LAW**

(d) Juvenile Corrections HB 26. Makes changes to Juvenile Corrections Act, removing use of "habitual
 status offender" so that status offenders are not detained in secure facilities and some other definitions
 changes to conform to actual practice and some nationwide standards. LAW

(e) Electronic Wills Act SB 1077. This was withdrawn by Commissioners after discussion with me and
 some others and TEPI will have a review committee for next session.

(f) Recording of Death Certificates SB 1078. Amends §31-2402, Instruments To Be Recorded, to allow
 recording of death certificates and to not allow County Recorder to refuse to record the documents listed
 in subparts 1(a) through 1(n), which includes death certificates. Had been a problem when recording a
 death certificate for a CPWROS deed or life estate or similar situations. LAW

(g) Physician Assistants SB 1093. Much of Idaho does not have physicians, so local care often by
 physician assistant or RN with supervising physician, usually remotely. Existing system overburdened the
 process, so simplified that system. LAW

(h) Annuities HB 79. Annuity Consumer Protections Act. Adopts a recent NAIC model regulation in statute
 rather than rule. House hates rules. So moves some IDAPA provisions to the statute. States obligations
 for insurance producers and insurers to act in best interest of consumer when making a recommendation
 for an annuity, training, and supervision of recommendations to validate insurance and financial needs of

1 consumers. Clarifies several existing statutes. Barely passed House 34-33 with 3 absences but passed 2 easily in Senate. I say Amen. Spend too much time working with inappropriate annuities, especially in 3 Medicaid, but in EP for elderly in general. LAW

4 (i) Child Support, Temporary Restricted License HB 96. Allows a citizen who lost driver's license 5 because of non-payment of child support to petition the courts and show good cause why should be granted a temporary restricted license to maintain or secure employment. Only negative votes were in the 6 7 Senate and were mostly Democrats. Not sure why. LAW

8 (j) Child Protection Act Removal of Child HB 233. Amends Title 15 Chapter 24, adding a new §16-2426A 9 on "Serious Behavioral Health Conditions – Prevention of Removal From Custody. H&W is directed to enter 10 into appropriate interagency agreements with an interagency clinical team to review cases, mostly where 11 children are at hospital or other treatment facility and to avoid removing child from custody of parent or 12 guardian. LAW

13 2. TAX

40

14 I am not currently going to have any detailed comments on all the various appropriation bills for transportation, 15 school funding, repeal of sales tax on groceries, etc. even though those may cause tax consequences, since that 16 will be analyzed to death in the media.

17 (a) **PROPERTY TAX**

18 1. Property Tax Relief

- 19 a. Veterans HB 120. Qualified disabled veteran who has applied before April 15th for the special 20 property tax reduction in §63-702 and §63-705A can transfer the property tax reduction or occupancy tax reduction benefit by changing to new residence after April 15 but before October 1st. 21 22 LAW effective March 17, 2021.
- 23 b. Circuit Breaker For Certified Family Home Reduction HB 212 would have allowed someone 24 who is the homeowner of a Certified Family Home to apply for circuit breaker tax relief by 25 exempting the payment they receive from the State to care for someone in their home. There are 26 about 2,200 Certified Family Homes but not any collection of data on how many would be affected. 27 So cost of anything from \$264,000 to \$726,000, but more likely towards the lower end. Failed 32-34 in House with 4 absent. 28
- 29 c. Agriculture Assessment HB 252. Revises the § 63-604 definition of land actively devoted to 30 agriculture to include pivot corners or land that is used to support the agricultural use of the 31 gualifying property such as land that is used to store agricultural commodities or equipment. LAW
- 32 d. Property Tax Deferral. HB 309. Amends §§63-713. 716, and 717. Increases household income 33 limits, adjusts interest rate to that provided in §63-3045, includes properties that are part of a trust 34 or life estate, and increases total amount of funding available from existing \$500,000 to \$5,000,000. LAW retroactive to January 1, 2021. 35
- e. Property Tax Relief, Maybe. HB 389. Rep. Moyle's attempt to get something through. Series 36 37 of components:
- 38 1. Increases homeowners exemption to \$125,000. 39
 - 2. Increases circuit breaker benefit to up to \$1,500.
 - 3. Increases special disabled veteran property tax reduction to \$1,500.
- 4. Starting in 2022, imposes a value test to circuit breaker program. Earlier versions had a 41 42 total assets type of test, which was completely unworkable and got comments from me and

1 others. This version says that circuit breaker not available if your assessed value of your 2 residence exceeds 125% of the median assessed valuation for all homes in the county, then 3 goes to deferred tax under §63-712-721 instead. 4 5. Increases exemption for personal property taxpayers to \$250,000 and exempts transient 5 personal property. 6 6. Lot of provisions in the new construction and annexation provisions, including a total cap 7 of 8% on amount of valuation available to tax those, reduces the amount of forgone revenue 8 a taxing district can take for ongoing budget growth, with some provisions for one-time 9 capital projects. And delays entry of an improved property's market value on the new 10 construction roll until after the improvements are completed (no ability to play games there). 11 LAW But multiple cities are now passing moratoriums on new construction because of the 12 uncertainty about the methodology and effect of the new law. There is a distinct feeling that

13 this benefits commercial much more than residential properties.

14 (b) **INCOME TAX:**

15 1. Compliance bill HB 58 Updates the reference in §63-3004 from 2020 to 2021. The marriage provisions 16 are still, ineffectively absent US Supreme Court change, in the statute. Supreme Court does have a case 17 next session that could do that. But did not adopt change in federal law to IRC §461(1) so kept the 2020 18 version. That section limits the ability of noncorporate taxpayers (individuals and pass through entities) to 19 deduct business losses against nonbusiness income, in coordination with Section 469 on passive activity 20 loss limitations. (1) is specifically denies a deduction for "excess business losses". That was waived for 21 2021 largely so Idaho didn't waive to limit tax writeoffs (see HB 332 below). LAW retroactive to January 22 1, 2021.

23 2. Income Tax Bills

24

25

26

27

28 29

30

39

40

41

42

43

(a) HB 332 One of the many attempts to change income tax rates. Reduces all income tax brackets, setting the top individual and corporate tax bracket to 6.5% retroactive to January 1, 2021, \$169.4 million in ongoing tax relief. One-time sales tax/income tax rebate, returning \$220 million to Idaho taxpayers by a rebate check to 2020 personal income tax filers providing a minimum amount of \$50 for each taxpayer and dependent or 9% of income taxes paid in 2019 whichever is greater. Part of the cost is covered by not conforming to some IRA codes in HB 58. Sent to Senate amending order which is death and never came out.

- (b) HB 380. So try again. Pretty close to HB 332. Reduces brackets to 5, sets toped individual and corporate tax brackets at 6.5% retroactive to January 1, 2021 (\$162.9 million tax relief, so a little smaller), one time sales tax/income tax rebate, same numbers. Same non-conformance in compliance bill provisions. Not clear exactly what is different. LAW, with provisions retroactive to January 1, 2021 (Sections 1 and 3) and the others (sections 2 and 4) the standard July 1, 2021.
- 36(c) HB 170. Trailer to HB 58 (Compliance bill, above). "protects Idaho taxpayers from losing excess37losses subject to the limitation on §461(1) and allows those losses to be carried forward as NOL38for up to 20 years. Specific language in 63-2022:

(r) Add the excess business losses under section 461(I) of the Internal Revenue Code, as required by section 63-3004, Idaho Code. The excess business losses may be carried forward and deducted as an Idaho net operating loss under section 63-3021, Idaho Code, successively over the next twenty (20) years succeeding the taxable year in which the loss arises until such losses are exhausted. Excess business losses shall not be carried back.

- 44 **LAW** retroactive to January 1, 2018.
- 45 (d) HB 217. Creates a presumption in favor of the taxpayer to use a statement or invoice from a

credit card company or other financial institution as evidence that an expenditure was made by the taxpayers. LAW

(e) HB 251. All one-time federal relief monies provided to Idaho businesses in 2020 are non-taxable except for emergency rental assistance program funds, including Rebound Idaho Small Business Grants, forgiven Paycheck Protection Program loans, and Economic Injury Disaster Loan advance funds. LAW retroactive to January 1, 2021. Why not to January 1, 2020 when much of that would apply? Number of reasons, including that would have required amended returns for 2020.

- (f) HB 276. Relates to bonus depreciation, the accelerated depreciation allowed as a deduction for federal income tax purposes but not for Idaho income tax purposes. Current law as interpreted by 10 STC said even if the bonus depreciation did not result in actual deduction at federal level (usually because of passive loss or similar limitations), the bonus depreciation still had to be added back. 11 12 Created phantom income, since Idaho tax return starts with the federal tax return. Additionally, 13 messed with the tax basis in depreciation and could create phantom income on sale of the asset 14 before fully depreciated. So bill provides that Idaho taxable income does not include the bonus 15 depreciation add-back where the depreciation could not be used currently on the federal return, and 16 by permitting the taxpayer's basis in an asset for State income tax purposes to be reduced only by 17 the amount of depreciation actually allowed as a deduction on the Idaho return. Not common 18 situation but does happen. Brought by Idaho Society of CPA's. LAW retroactive to January 1, 2021.
- 19 (g) HB 317. Federal income tax has deductions for State and local taxes (SALT). Currently there is a \$10,000 limitation on the federal deduction for SALT. In 2020, IRS released Notice 2020-75, 20 21 approving the availability of a SALT limitation workaround for pass-through entities. That workaround is provided in this bill for owners, partners, members, and shareholders in partnerships. 22 23 LLC's, and S corporations by allowing the pass through entity to pay Idaho tax at the entity level. 24 LAW retroactive to January 1, 2021. Biden proposals do not include changing the SALT limit.
- 25 (h) HB 390. Another of the last minute attempts to get everything finished. Clarifies that gualified payments made directly to households from the Emergency Rental Assistance Program and used 26 27 to pay rent or utilities is not taxable income. ERAP payments to a landlord are taxable. And gratuitously tossed in another shot at allowing the actions of the STC chair or staff to be reviewed 28 29 by STC commission. Passed House but defeated in Senate 26-9.

30 (c) BOND ELECTIONS

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

31 1. HB 66a. Multiple bills over the years on bond elections. This one sets a series of requirements that have 32 to be listed in a brief official statement in "simple, understandable language that goes on the ballot prior 33 to where vote is cast. Court can declare election invalid if not followed and award fees and costs. LAW

34 (d) STATE TAX COMMISSION

- 35 1. HB 214. Another of the battles between the legislature and the administration side of government. It 36 would have required the advice and consent of the STC if the chairman assigned responsibility for 37 personnel, budgetary, and/or fiscal matters of the STC. And permit review of unilateral actions of the 38 chairman by STC upon request of a commissioner. **VETOED** and House vote to override passed on party 39 line vote but Senate failed 21-14, with 5 Republicans changing sides. Governor veto letter said the bill 40 "undermines the original intent of the Legislature that wisely assigned to the Chairman, or his designee, 41 the responsibility for the da-to-ay administration functions of the Tax Commission so that the individual Commissioners remain free to dedicate their time and expertise on ensuring the predictable, consistent, 42 43 and fair application of tax law to Idaho's taxpayers."
- 44 (e) SALES TAX

HB 171a. Shifts the burden or obligation of establishing a sales tax exemption or resale certificate to the
 purchaser rather than the seller. And the purchaser providing that exemption or resale certificate to a seller
 bears all responsibility and liability for any subsequent audit of the transaction and seller is held harmless.
 The amendment was pretty extensive but mainly added a lot of detail on what has to be in certificates.
 Apparently some games going on with certificates. LAW

6 (f) TAX APPEALS

1. HB 277. Allows taxpayers the right to have another person of their choosing represent them in a hearing
 or rehearing held on the taxpayer's appeal before the Board of Tax Appeals. LAW

9 3. COVID AND RELATED ISSUES

Huge battles this year between the Governor's office (and therefore some administrative departments) and the legislature over emergency powers. Multiple bills were proposed (starting with HBs 1 and 4, and SB's 1001 and 1002 and 1003, which shows the priority the legislature put on this, but which never got out of committee) and a few made it through the legislature.

- (a) Vaccination HB 298 amends §39-4801 and 4802, requires school officials to notify parents or
 guardians of their right to vaccine exemptions. Preschool through grade twelve students are in Idaho code
 39-4802. Any notifications to parents or guardians regarding vaccinations must include a verbal (oral)
 description of their right to exempt their child. LAW
- 18 (b) **Emergency Powers etc.** A slew of bills.
- 191. SB 1134. Amends current §46-1005A to allow recovery of federal funds after Declaration of State20Emergency has expired or terminated. Limits transfer of funds to the Disaster Emergency Account21to one percent (1%) of annual General Fund appropriations. LAW effective Mari 14, 2021.
- 22 2. SB 1136a. Martial law. VETOED by Governor on grounds of separation of powers. Would have
 23 severely limited the Governor's ability to act during state of extreme period and denied the ability
 24 of the Governor to alter, adjust, or suspend any provision of the Idaho Code in certain instances.
 25 Override vote failed in Senate by one vote 23-12, against with 5 Republican Senators joining the
 26 Democrats who voted no on the bill itself.
- 273. HB 135a. Again, a limit on the ability of the Governor to declare and extend a declaration of28disaster emergency. VETOED by Governor. House overrode but Senate did not, by one vote with29two absent.
- 304. SB 1139. Clarified definitions in §56-1001 like "quarantine" and "isolation" and also "clarifies"31(that means restricts) the powers of the Director of H&W in §56-1003 relating to rules and issuing32of isolation, quarantine, and restricted access and adds language to allow for request to the courts33for review of an order issued by the Director. And the battle goes on. LAW
- 345. HB 149. Extended a limited immunity from liability in the Coronarius Limited Immunity Act35(Chapter 2, Section 3) to extend the sunset date to July 1, 2022. LAW
- 6. HB 246a. In Idaho Parental Rights statutes, stating that an emergency order, disaster declaration, etc., cannot be deemed a compelling governmental interest that would allow abridgement of parent rights as described in §32-1013, including that could not justify: "Forced medication action on child; Forced removal of a child from the home; or the violation of or interference with a parent's fundamental and established rights protected by the Idaho parental rights act." LAW

7. HB 391, 392, 393. And now new bills, watered down from the prior attempts that were vetoed. House did not adjourn, not go sine die, so come back for attempts to override any additional vetoes or to pass additional bills. Was sitting on Governor's desk, which is why the legislature is in recess in case an override vote is required. But he signed all three, although reluctantly. It would be cynical of me to propose that the Governor let one or more of these become law in return for not overriding his vetoes, above. So I won't say that. **LAW**

(c) Excessive Increased Prices During Emergencies SB 1041. Existing statute §46-603 amended to
 clarify that excessive pricing during a declared emergency applies to exorbitant or excessive increased
 prices to the consumer rather than the margin between wholesale and retail prices and with other factors
 to consider even if increased price. LAW effective March 17, 2021.

(d) Catastrophic Health Care Program SB 1081. Another of the House vs Senate situations. The Senate passed easily a transfer of \$6,000,000 to the CAT fund. House turned in down 33-35.

(e) Catastrophic Line of Duty Benefits SB 1096. Creates a new classification of catastrophic disability
 benefit under PERSI for police officers and firefighter members who are catastrophically injured in the line
 of duty. LAW

16 (f) **Special Sessions**

1

2

3

4

5

6

- 171. SB 1112aa. Provides a process to petition the Speaker of House and President Pro Tempore (Lt18Gov) to call a Special Session of the legislature. Has to have specific purposes. If 60% of the19members of both House and Senate sign the petition, goes to Secretary of State, who notifies the20Speak and President Pro Tempore, who issue a joint proclamation calling for the Special Session.21Convenes not sooner than 48 hours and no later than 15 days unless emergency. Takes22precedence over any extraordinary session convened by Governor. Passed Senate on mostly party23line vote, died in House without a vote.
- 242. HCR 22, somewhat related. Approves recess subject to the Call of the Speaker and President25Pro Tempore of Senate to no later than September 1, 2021. So not Adjourn sine die, just recess26and come back when want to, no limits on what cover. Never came out of House committee.
- 273. SJR 102. Proposes and amendment to the Idaho Constitution to establish provisions for
convening the Legislature for special or organizational sessions. ADOPTED
- (g) **ARPA** SB 1204. American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 on federal level gives large money to Idaho. So
 this says where it goes so the Governor doesn't get any ideas. **LAW** effective May 10, 2021.
- (h) Health Care Ordinances by Cities HB 74. Limits application of health ordinances to city limits,
 amending §§ 50-304 and 50-606 to comply with Idaho State Constitution Article VII Section 2. Mainly to
 tell City of Boise not to try to tell Meridian what to do in my humble opinion. LAW effective March 12, 2021.
- (i) Remote Participation in Meetings of Nonprofit Corporations HB 103. Existing law allowed that for
 profit corporation shareholders and directors and for non-profit corporation directors. This updates to allow
 members of non-profit corporation to use remote attendance to extent authorized by the Board of Directors.
 LAW
- (j) In Person Instructions During Emergency HB 175. Provides students with access to in-person
 instruction when safety requirements can be developed at the local level, especially for special needs and
 elementary students. Brought by Dept of Education. LAW
- 41 4. MISCELLANEOUS

(a) **Abortion**

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

23

24

25

26 27

28

33

34 35

36

1. First Fetal Heartbeat Bill (SB 1085) never got out of committee. Second version, HB 366, passed on party line votes and has been signed by Governor. Exceptions for rape, incest, and life of the mother. Not effective until issuance of any decision upholding a restriction or ban on abortion of a preborn child with a heartbeat by any United States appellate court. Number of other States have this or similar language. 9th Federal District would be unlikely to uphold so any such case would come from a different jurisdiction. But, there is a US Supreme Court case on docket for next session that could do that in a Texas case. LAW

2. HB 302 Down Syndrome. Amends Informed Consent Law to require information specific to 10 babies diagnosed with Down Syndrome, whose abortion rate may be as high as 90%. H&W is provide mothers in such circumstances with information about resources available, in both public 11 12 and private sectors, to help support a decision to not abort. My older sister was Down Syndrome. 13 She and many of my GaL cases that are Down Syndrome are the sweetest most loving kids I have 14 known. Many can be high functioning. LAW

15 (b) **Time Periods** The Idaho Supreme Court is trying to get a time periods to run in 7 day increments to 16 avoid things coming due on weekends etc. Number of bills, just corrective. SB 1036 for example for notices 17 in adoptions. LAW

18 (c) Hands Free Devices HB5. In IC 49-1401A, Distracted Driving, the use of global positioning or 19 navigation systems features in a mobile electronic device by the operator of the vehicle is allowed. This 20 bill clarified that only if hands-free. Had a lot of opposition (39-28 in House and 19-15 in Senate). Brought 21 by insurance industry. LAW effective March 8, 2021.

22 (d) Industrial Hemp, CBD, Medical Marijuana

1. Industrial Hemp HB 126. Can now grow and transport hemp in Idaho as long as THC content doesn't exceed 0.3%. Last State in the US to finally do this. But can't do sale to consumers if any any any THC. Can you continue to sell CBD oil under 0.3% THC content, which is federally legal? I read the entire very long bill and not clear to me. Seems to me the import of the bill is to restrict Idaho growers and transporters, but that is just my assumption. Will have to see what the Rules developed by Dept of Ag come up with. LAW effective April 12, 2021.

29 2. Synthetic Cannabinoids etc. SB 1017 From the Idaho Board of Pharmacy. Amends the Idaho Uniform Controlled Substances Act to match the federal Drug Enforcement Administration decisions 30 31 for 2020, including putting synthetic cannabinoids on Schedule I, an opiate in Schedule II, and 32 another substance in Schedule V. So says that:

> "Marijuana" does not include drug product in finished dosage formulation that has been approved by the United States food and drug administration that contains [long chemical string] derived by cannabis and no more than one-tenth of one percent (0.1%) residual tetrabydrocannabinols.

37 That is part of the answer to the question I asked in 1, above, about CBD oil etc. LAW

38 (e) Firearms SB1205. Stated to be a reaction to President Biden's executive orders etc. on gun control. 39 Over 56% of Idahoans own a firearm, third highest in US - 49,566 registered in Idaho as of 2020, and a 40 lot not registered. The Statement of Purpose says:

41 The Idaho Firearm and Firearm Accessories and Components Protection Act builds upon, without resetting, the action taken by the Idaho legislature in 2014 under the Idaho Federal Firearms, 42 43 Magazine, and Register Ban Enforcement Act codified in Idaho Code Section 18-3315B which

prohibits local officials from being ordered to enforce federal actions contrary to the Idaho Constitution. This bill seeks to protect the rights of Idaho citizens under Section 11, Article 1 of the Idaho Constitution regarding new federal executive orders and other actions by prohibiting Idaho government entities from enforcing or supporting the enforcement of these new federal actions regarding firearms and firearm accessories and components that violate the Idaho Constitution.

6 **LAW** retroactive to January 20, 2021.

(f) Initiatives

1

2

3

4

5

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

16

17 18

19

SB 1110. Significantly limits the ability of Idaho citizens to get a ballot initiative qualified. Existing law was 6% of all registered voters in Idaho (not 6% of all who actually voted) in at least 18 legislative districts - what that means is had to have 6% of the registered voters in the districts you turned in and 6% of the statewide registered number. Bill changes that to all 35 legislative districts and removed the statewide requirement. Obviously, getting not less than 6% in every district means you would have 6% statewide... So net effect is that one district not getting proper number of signatures kills the qualification. Guess what all that was aimed at?

15 Statement of Purpose says:

The purpose of this legislative is to increase voter involvement and inclusivity in the voter initiative/referendum process. This will be accomplished by ensuring signatures are gathered from each of the 35 legislative districts, so every part of Idaho is included in the process.

20I thought that the actual vote on the initiative/referendum, if qualified by sufficient signatures, would21be a state-wide vote in order to pass but apparently not. Passed on party line vote. LAW But lawsuit22has been filed by Reclaim Idaho. and Committee to Protect and Preserve the Idaho Constitution23(committee of attorneys).

24 SB 1150aaH provides that those who circulate petitions and gather signatures for ballot initiatives 25 and referendums must collect them in the State of Idaho and must certify that they were physically 26 located in the State of Idaho at time of signing. Passed Senate on mostly party line vote, but House 27 sent to Amending Orders. Usually a sign it will die but there was a flurry of amendments primarily 28 by Rep. Brent Crane. It did come out of committee in House with Do Pass recommendation. House 29 passed 35-25 as amended on a literally last minute basis so went back to Senate to see if they 30 concur. They did but Governor VETOED. His concerns, which were pretty general, were that the 31 amendments allowed signatures from Idaho citizens who signed outside the State if they were 32 military members or missionaries. But what about family of military, or citizens who were not either 33 military or missionaries?

(g) Spousal Rape SB 1089a. This cleaned up some problem areas in the criminal definitions of spousal
 rape. Totally repealed §18-6107, Spousal Rape. Realistically, prosecutors were not charging that offense.
 And clarified that being married to an underage spouse was not statutory rape. So rape is rape regardless
 of relationships. LAW

(h) Wrongful Conviction SB 1027 and SB 1200. Compensates wrongfully convicted and imprisoned
persons at \$62,000 per year of incarceration, \$75,000 per year on death row, \$25,000 for each year on sex
offender registry. Have to claim within two years of court order of exoneration. SB 1200 as a trailer clarified
that the time periods include time awaiting trial. SB 1027 LAW effective March 5, 2021. SB 1200 was
amended in House April 26 regarding death row definition to time "actually served related to the charge
giving rise to death row imprisonment", amended so back to Senate on amendment, who agreed. LAW

44 (i) **Wolves** SB 1211. Instead of Elmer Fudd singing "KILL THE RABBIT", the legislature is singing "KILL

THE WOLVES". Essentially allows for up to 90% reduction in number of wolves in Idaho by various means, including hunting permits (unlimited), use of private contractors, wolf trapping year-round on private property (not just your own). Party line vote in Senate, passed House, so on way to Governor. **LAW**

1

2

3

- 4 (j) **Owner Liability for Recreation** SB 1020. Amends §36-1604, Limitation of Liability of Landowner, 5 including that recreational activities includes traveling across the land owned by others for purpose of 6 recreating. Part of the ongoing battle over what is trespass and who is liable. **LAW**
- (k) Write-in Candidates and Signature Verifications SB 1062. Couple of changes. First, write-in candidates for US President must provide VP selection and Electors to Idaho when file their declaration of candidacy as a write-in. Second, petition for independent candidates for all partisan offices are on forms prescribed by Secretary of State, modeled on the format used in recall petitions. By Secretary of State's office. LAW A number of bills on elections passed one house but died in other.
- (I) Adverse Possession SB 1073. Expands exemption of water delivery facilities from claims of adverse
 possession. LAW
- (m) Israel Anti-Boycott SB 1086. I was heavily involved in this bill. 32 other States had already passed
 similar bills and US Congress had previously done bipartisan policy about opposing boycotts of friendly
 nations (meaning Israel). This provides that as a condition of any contract with the State of Idaho, any
 person/entity etc. contracting with the State of Idaho must sign a certification that it is not engaged in, and
 will not be engaged in for duration of the contract, boycott of Israel or its products etc. Only applies if over
 \$100,000 contract or 10 or more employees. Is on the honor system. Simple one page certification. LAW
- (n) Smoking Age Another Senate House conflict. SB 1087 raised the age for legal possession and use
 of tobacco products and electronic smoking devices to age 21. Passed Senate easily but defeated handily
 in House.
- (o) Fees for Residential Tenants SB 1088. You guessed it. Senate passed easily and House killed it.
 Would have limited rental fees and require them to be enumerated in lease agreements.
- (p) Vacation of Rights of Way SB 1101. Existing law didn't adequately cover what happens when existing
 but undeveloped subdivision plats reconfigure dedicated public right-of-way, requiring compensation for
 the right-of-way to be vacated. So this bill allows an exchange in essence without having to pay
 compensation. LAW
- (q) Electronic Motor Vehicle Registration SB 1102. Allows electronic interaction with Idaho
 Transportation Department. Some development costs, but should then not only save costs but eliminate
 the sit and wait experience that can last many hours. Small fees for the privilege. Should reduce annual
 local DMV transactions by 211,000 per year. LAW
- (r) US Supreme Court SJM 102. Urges Congress to propose an amendment to the US Constitution to set
 the number of justices on the Supreme Court at nine. Good luck. ADOPTED
- (s) Security Deposits HB 152. Requires that security deposits for rentals managed by a third party
 manage must be held in a separate account at a federally insured institution. Tight votes in House and
 Senate (37-31 and 20-15). LAW
- (t) **Reindeer** HB 166. Removed a prohibition on use of reindeer for domestic purposes north of Salmon
 River. Sponsor was Santa Claus. LAW
- 40 (u) Verification of Signatures of Electors and Petition Signers HB 290. The purpose of this legislation
 41 is stated to be to ensure the security of absentee voting and the validity of petition signatures by clarifying
 42 the requirement that county clerks verify voter signatures in these instances. A recent Idaho district court

decision held that it is not reasonable to interpret the existing statutes to say that county clerks should be verifying signatures on a recall petition, which has been standard practice across the state. Clarifies requirements to ensure these practices continue for all instances where signature verification is currently relied upon. It also requires the Secretary of State to provide training and guidance on how signatures are to be verified and clarifies that petition signatures are to be physical signatures and not electronic. **LAW** effective April 19, 2021.

7 (v) Right of way and Easements for Irrigation HB 307. Multiple subparts relating to current legal battles. 8 One deletes §42-1101, which appeared to recognize riparian doctrine, which Idaho courts have long said 9 does not apply in Idaho. Clarifies rights and obligations associated with operating, cleaning, maintaining, 10 and repairing rights-of-way and easements, including right to remove debris from the right-of-way and amends same section (42-1102) to codify the common law standard applied by Idaho courts on the extent 11 12 to which debris may be deposited on a right-of-way easement under the "rule of reasonableness" as "reasonably necessary". Clarifies that the rights and obligations of irrigation entities applies to existing 13 14 embankments and facilities. Brought by Idaho Water Users Association. LAW

15 (w) **Public Education Dignity and Nondiscrimination** HB 377. New section 33-138. Essentially that 16 teachers and administrators etc. at public schools, charter schools, and higher education, "respect the 17 dignity of others, acknowledge the right of others to express differing opinions, and foster and defend 18 intellectual honesty, freedom of inquiry and instruction, and freedom of speech and association. Calls out 19 critical race theory and says:

(3) In accordance with section 6, article IX of the constitution of the state of Idaho and section 67-5909, Idaho Code:

(a) No public institution of higher education, school district, or public school, including a public charter school, shall direct or otherwise compel students to personally affirm, adopt, or adhere to any of the following tenets:

(i) That any sex, race, ethnicity, religion, color, or national origin is inherently superior or inferior;

(ii) That individuals should be adversely treated on the basis of their sex, race, ethnicity, religion, color, or national origin; or

(iii) That individuals, by virtue of sex, race, ethnicity, religion, color, or national origin, are inherently responsible for actions committed in the past by other members of the same sex, race, ethnicity, religion, color, or national origin.

32 **LAW** effective April 28, 2021.

1

2

3

4

5

6

20

21

22

23

24

25 26

27

28

29

30

31

40

41

42

43

44

45

46 47

(x) Birth Certificate and Adoption HB 59. Amends current law to provide that original birth certificate and
 other records will be made available upon request to adoptees for adoptions that occur on or after July 1,
 2021. On 14th Order in Senate when they adjourned, so did not make it. I have concerns about this opening
 up of records, but at least is prospective only. The actual language in §39-258:

- (9) For adoptions that occur on or after July 1, 2021, the provisions of this section shall apply,
 except that:
 (a) The natural or adoptive parentage of each parent shall be demonstrated as determined
 - (a) The natural or adoptive parentage of each parent shall be demonstrated as determined by the registrar on the face of a new birth certificate described in subsection (6) of this section; and
 - (b) A copy of the original birth certificate, all medical and demographic information contained in the sealed file, and the report of adoption must be provided upon the signed request of the adoptee who is named on the birth certificate or such adoptee's legal representative, provided that the adoptee must be aged eighteen (18) years or older, and provided further that the bureau of vital statistics is not obligated to provide court records to such adoptee under the provisions of this paragraph.

5. LICENSE PLATES Every year I think we are done with all these, but no.

(a) Seven years ago SB 1243 provided that, effective January 1, 2013, and going forward, specialty plates
will be limited to State and other public agencies or foundations supporting the interests of State and/or
local government, but outside groups promptly figured out how to get around that. Four years ago HB 169
amended §49-402D to clarify that legislation regarding specialty license plates is not subject to rejection
or approval by the Idaho Transportation Department, and that the legislature can pass such legislation
before, during, or after the application process, but that the plates will not be printed until all the
prerequisites to the Department of Transportation specified in section 2 of §49-402D have been met.

(b) As usual, a number of bills didn't make it (special designations on veterans license plates). But HB 85
(my old football and current hockey jersey number) allows a Purple Heart recipient to have more than two
vehicles with Purple Heart license plates, which is the current restriction. Cost the same as a regular plate.
Cost to Idaho over next ten years – \$662.40. I would chip that in for this. LAW And HB 165 creates a
"custom vehicle" license plate for replica vehicles that would otherwise qualify for Idaho classic license
plates. Why not a replica license plate instead? LAW

15 **ISSUES FOR NEXT YEAR**

16 At this time, TEPI does not intend to present any legislation in the 2019 legislature. The main things TEPI will be 17 doing:

1. Where is C&G going? I was an Observer on the Uniform Laws Commission committee revising Chapter
5 of the Probate Code (C&G). Final version was adopted by the Commission July 2017, with final
Comments coming months later. The proposed language is quite different in many areas from our existing
law, since it was based on the 1997 revision that went nowhere. I have made some suggestions to the ULC
which have been integrated. Who will present any bill that results from this remains to be decided. Will
require vast amount of time commitment over 2-3 years. We are meeting monthly for 2-4 hours.

- 2. TEPI has been studying the whole 2010 UPC, except for Chapter 5, in comparison to our existing
 statutes to see if want to adopt more of the UPC as it now reads nationally. Has already been a great
 amount of time spent and probably years left to get to a final draft. There are a lot of provisions that we will
 not want to adopt and some that we will. Who will present any bill that results from this also remains to be
 decided. Not meeting for now until C&G is finished.
- 3. TEPI has been working on a new edition of the C&G Forms book only one edition ever published,
 compared to 3-4 editions for the probate forms book. We may wait until the C&G provisions are in place
 as amended before continuing with this. Existing system seems to be working well enough.
- 32 4. TEPI will be reviewing the Uniform Electronic Wills Act for next session.

IHCCA (Idaho Continuum of Care Association) is working on completing the transition of the Medical Directive
 Registry to the Dept of H&W. Additionally, will be some major changes to the POST form and to the Medical
 Directives, which may or may not require legislative changes.