## ISB Family Law Section –

February 14, 2025 | 12:00 p.m. MST | Hosted by: ISB.

## Attendance:

Via Zoom: Jennifer Schindele, Lessie Brown, Challis McNally, Kurt Swinburson, Wilson Burke, Katelynn Mitchell, Veronica Garcia, Erika Klein, Erica Kallin, Frances Stern, Kaitlin Aberasturi, Gregory Decker, Jake Welsh, Marques Lang, Mackenzie Whatcott, Holly Birdwell, Weston Burke, Andrew Howard, Denton Whitney, Dixon H, Francis Stern, Margarita Varaksa, Melissa Peterson, Rachael Nigro, Rudy Patrick, Tyrie Strong

## Presenter in Attendance:

Tenielle Fordyce-Ruff, Professor of Law & Director of Legal Writing for the OHJD Program at Vermont Law & Graduate School, presented a ½ hour CLE titled *Finding and Fixing the Top Ten Legal Writing Issues*.

- 1. New Business:
  - a. Review of January 2025 Meeting Minutes—Approved
  - b. Financial Review no further update still waiting for documentation.
- 2. Old Business:
  - a. None.
- 3. Committee Reports / Appointments:
  - a. Seat 1--National Conferences:
    - i. Chair: Lisa Rodriguez
    - ii. Members: Katelynn Mitchell; Tyrie Strong.
      - 1. Updates: No updates.
  - b. Seat 2: Annual October CLE:
    - i. Chair: Rachael Nigro
    - ii. Members: Tyrie Strong; Frances Stern; Tyler Rounds; Jennifer Brumley.
      - 1. CLE Scheduled for October 9-11, Hampton Inn in CDA, capacity 120 people
      - 2. No updates.
  - c. Seat 3: Other CLEs:
    - i. Chair: Leah Shotwell.
    - ii. Members: Katelynn Mitchell.
      - 1. Updates: CLE scheduled for next month. March meeting re: bankruptcy and family law.
  - d. Seat 4: Legislative Committee:
    - i. Chair: Mackenzie Whatcott.
    - ii. Members: No committee.
      - 1. Updates: Number of updates but will wait to present until the next scheduled meeting.
  - e. Seat 5: Publications Committee:

- i. Chair: Fred Zundel.
- ii. Members: Merritt Dublin; Tyrie Strong; Tyler Rounds; Mackenzie Whatcott; Jennifer Schindele; Cassandra Cooper.
  - 1. Updates: Articles needed for the 2026 edition.
- f. Seat 6: Technology Committee:
  - i. Chair: Tyler Rounds.
  - ii. Members: Jennifer Schindele.
    - 1. Updates: No updates.
- g. Seat 7: Membership Committee:
  - i. Chair: Mackenzie Whatcott.
  - ii. Members: Jennifer Schindele; Doug Leavitt; Francis Stern.
    - 1. Updates: Committee plans to attend Section Fair
- h. Seat 8: Special Awards and Projects Committee:
  - i. Chair: Katelynn Mitchell.
  - ii. Members: Frances Stern.
    - 1. Updates: No updates.
- 4. Announcements:
  - i. None.

Next Meeting: March 14, 2025, to be held via Zoom with possible CLE.