ISB Family Law Section –

August 9, 2024 | 12:00 p.m. MST | Hosted by: ISB.

Attendance:

Via Zoom: Lisa Rodriguez, Tyler Rounds, Jennifer Schindele, Douglas Leavitt, Jake Welsh, Elisha Kelleher, Mackenzie Whatcott, Matt Holden, Nancy Hurd, Rachel Nigro, Tyrie Strong.

Presenters in Attendance: No presenters / presentations.

- 1. New Business:
 - a. Review of June 2024 Meeting Minutes—Approved
 - b. Discussion re: sponsorship for Advocate Article, potential to plan for April 2026 and co-sponsor; Discussion of involvement of law students with articles
 - c. Discussion re: replacement of Merrit Dublin's position as an At Large Counsel Member. Decision reached to hold on replacement for now and wait for her term to expire.
 - d. Discussion re: financials and needing updated numbers from ISB.
- 2. Old Business:
 - a. Nothing to report.
- 3. Committee Reports / Appointments:
 - a. Seat 1--National Conferences:
 - i. Chair: Lisa Rodriguez
 - ii. Members: Katelynn Mitchell; Tyrie Strong.
 - 1. Updates: No updates at this time. If anyone has any input they can reach out to the section.
 - b. Seat 2: Annual October CLE:
 - i. Chair: Rachael Nigro
 - ii. Members: Tyrie Strong; Frances Stern; Tyler Rounds; Jennifer Brumley.
 - 1. Updates: 2024 Family Law Conference is scheduled for October 25-26, 2024 at the Limelight in Ketchum, Idaho.
 - 2. Reception will be planned for Thursday evening.
 - c. Seat 3: Other CLEs:
 - i. Chair: Leah Shotwell.
 - ii. Members: Katelynn Mitchell.
 - 1. Updates: No updates, working to plan CLE's.
 - d. Seat 4: Legislative Committee:
 - i. Chair: Mackenzie Whatcott.
 - ii. Members: No committee.
 - 1. Updates: Some discussion about possible legislation that would require both parents to consent to marriage of a minor.
 - e. Seat 5: Publications Committee:
 - i. Chair: Fred Zundel.
 - ii. Members: Merritt Dublin; Tyrie Strong; Tyler Rounds; Mackenzie

Whatcott; Jennifer Schindele; (potentially) Cassandra Cooper.

- 1. Updates: Plan to have updated form book by October 2025 CLE.
- f. Seat 6: Technology Committee:
 - i. Chair: Tyler Rounds.
 - ii. Members: Jennifer Schindele.
 - 1. Updates: No updates.
- g. Seat 7: Membership Committee:
 - i. Chair: Mackenzie Whatcott.
 - ii. Members: Jennifer Schindele; Doug Leavitt; Francis Stern.
 - 1. Updates: None at this time, committee plans to meet.
- h. Seat 8: Special Awards and Projects Committee:
 - i. Chair: Katelynn Mitchell.
 - ii. Members: Frances Stern.
 - 1. Updates: Discussion re: the award of distinction and email to the section re: nominations.
- 4. Announcements:
 - i. Encouragement for everyone to plan to attend October CLE.

Next Meeting: September 13, 2024, to be held via Zoom.