## LITIGATION SECTION GOVERNING COUNCIL MEETING AND SECTION ANNUAL MEETING Minutes of July 9, 2009

## 1. Attendance:

Wyatt Johnson (Chairperson; Councilmember); Mark S. Geston (Secretary; Councilmember); Bill VanHole (Treasurer; Councilmember); Don Harris (Councilmember); John Zarian (Councilmember); Bill Dryden; John Magel; Michelle Points; Kendal McDevitt; Wendy Olson.

## 2. Preliminary remarks:

Wyatt Johnson reported on current discussions in the Practice Group Section of the State Bar concerning caps on cash deposits maintained by each Section. Sections, other than the Litigation Section have been balking at restrictions, but Wyatt thought it was likely that the Practice Group Section will eventually rule on a two-year cap. Reportedly, approximately \$400,000 is currently being retained in Section accounts and this perceived as possibly being inconsistent with nonprofit character of the State Bar.

Wyatt Johnson also reported on the Spureme Court Judicial Recruitment Committee, dealing with the apparent low interest in judicial appointments. Notably, it does not appear to the Committee that comparatively low pay and benefits are a significant factor in the current situation. Discussion was had about the purportedly "hostile" atmosphere of the vetting process. The Committee's police of a survey will be needed to obtain better insight as to what should be done to increase interest in appointments to the bench. Don Harris also commented on the potential for the current vetting process to bring out personal loyalties, partisanship, and so on. Wendy Olson noted the lack of female appointments to the bench, too.

## 3. Annual Meeting:

A quorum of 10 Section members was present.

Consideration of the Minutes of the June Governing Council meeting was tabled for the next regular meeting.

At the direction of the Chairperson, nominations were proposed for election to the Governing Council; notice for such nominations have not been previously circulated to the membership.

Bill VanHole, Mark S. Geston, and Michelle Points were nominated for the three open seats on the Governing Council and unanimously elected by the members present.

Nominations were next proposed for the election of Governing Council officers.

Nominations were received for John Zarian as Chairperson, Wyatt Johnson as Vice-Chairperson; Mark S. Geston as Secretary, and Bill VanHole as Treasurer, and all were unanimously elected by the members present.

A discussion followed on the status of "ex officio" Governing Council members.

There being no further business the Annual Meeting was adjourned at 8:05 a.m.