

RECIPROCAL ADMISSION CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION COURSE REQUIREMENTS

Idaho Bar Commission Rule (I.B.C.R.) 402(a)(1) requires each Active and House Counsel Member of the Idaho State Bar (ISB) to complete 30 credit hours of continuing legal education in each and every 3-year reporting period following the date of admission, 3 credit hours of which shall be in courses on legal ethics or professional responsibility.

New Admittee Education Requirement (Idaho Bar Commission Rule 402(a)(1)):

Within 12 months of admission to the ISB, each Active or House Counsel member must complete at least 10 New Admittee Credit-Approved (NAC-Approved) continuing legal education (CLE) credits. NAC-Approved CLE credits address Idaho practice, procedure and/or ethics. Of these 10 NAC-Approved CLE credits, attorneys shall complete courses specifically addressing Idaho substantive law on ethics, civil and criminal procedure, and community property. Courses designated as NAC-Approved and courses satisfying the Idaho substantive law CLE requirement will be listed on the ISB website: isb.idaho.gov and isb.fastcle.com. The NAC-Approved CLE credits completed by an attorney in his or her first year of admission to the ISB will be counted towards satisfying the 30 CLE credit hour requirement in I.B.C.R. 402(a)(1).

If you are interested in attending a course that has not been designated as NAC-Approved or want further information about additional courses that qualify for the NAC-Approved requirement, contact the Idaho State Bar MCLE Department at (208) 334-4500. To be designated as NAC-Approved the course must be on Idaho practice, procedure and/or ethics and, therefore, it is unlikely that courses held outside of Idaho would qualify.

Deadlines:

Attorneys must meet the requirements of I.B.C.R. 402(f) within 12 months of admission to the ISB. The deadline is 12 months after the day the attorney is admitted (i.e., sworn in) to the ISB.

Certification of Compliance:

Following admission to the ISB, reciprocal admission attorneys will receive a letter from the MCLE Department and a certificate of compliance with IBCR 402(f). This certificate showing NAC-Approved credits earned must be submitted to the MCLE Department by the end of the attorney's 12-month NAC-Approved reporting period.

Contact Information:

Please contact us at (208) 334-4500 if you have any questions:

Annette Strauser (<u>astrauser@isb.idaho.gov</u>): Questions about meeting the NAC-Approved requirements -- certificate of compliance, number of credits still needed, deadlines, etc.

Dayna Ferrero (<u>dferrero@isb.idaho.gov</u>): Information on and registering for upcoming NAC-Approved courses or other Idaho Law Foundation or ISB NAC-Approved courses. Information on availability of and renting NAC-Approved courses or DVDs and CDs and options for streaming NAC-Approved courses online.