Steps for Admission
Listed below are the steps for Admission to the Idaho State Bar under the Application for Reciprocal Admission. The application process could take from 60 to 90 days to complete.
When an application has been processed and approved, the Idaho State Bar notifies the Idaho Supreme Court that the reciprocal applicant is eligible for admission.
When the Idaho State Bar receives the Order of Admission, the Admissions Department sends the applicant license forms to be completed and returned to the Idaho State Bar, along with a letter giving instructions for admission to the Idaho Supreme Court and the United States District Court.
After the Idaho State Bar has received and processed the license forms, the applicant is eligible for admission. Applicant must first be admitted through the Idaho Supreme Court before being eligible to be admitted to the United States District Court.
Applicants must appear in person at the Idaho Supreme Court in Boise to be sworn-in. Please note that applicants have six months from the date of the Order of Admission to be sworn-in. Idaho Bar Commission Rule 220.
Pursuant to Idaho Bar Commission Rule 402, within 12 months of admission to the Idaho State Bar, each new Idaho lawyer is required to complete the New Admittee Education Requirement, which entails completion of 10 New Admittee Credit (NAC) approved CLE credits, including 4 courses fulfilling the Idaho Substantive Law Requirement. NAC-Approved courses and courses satisfying the Idaho Substantive Law Requirement are available streaming online at isb.fastcle.com.If you have questions about the application process or the admission requirements, please contact Maureen Ryan Braley, Director of Admissions, or Belinda Brown at (208) 334-4500.
If you have questions about the New Admittee Education Requirement, please contact Mahmood Sheikh, Deputy Executive Director, at (208) 334-4500.
If you have questions about CLE requirements, please contact Annette Strauser, Membership Administrator, at (208) 334-4500.