

# Mandatory Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) Application for Course Credit

R Idaho State Bar • PO Box 895 • Boise, Idaho 83701 • (208) 334-4500 • <u>mcle@isb.idaho.gov</u>

Submit one application per course. Live courses presented simultaneously by different presentation methods (e.g. in person and webcast) can be included in a single application. Live courses and their recordings must be applied for separately.

Applicant	Name and Address			
	ISB #	(ISB mbrs only)	Contact Name	
	Phone		Email	
Course Provider	Name and Address			
Course Title				

Fee(s) Included	Application Fee	common interests of certain members for the Bar) pay S50.	
	Late Fee	<b>\$</b> 25	Course Providers - application received more than 90 days after the course is held or after the recording is made. ISB Members - application received more than 90 days after the course was completed.

#### Complete the Live **OR** the Recorded block below.

DO NOT COMPLETE BOTH BLOCKS. Separate applications are required for live courses and for their recordings.

	Live	Recorded
	Course held live with instructors and attendees participating in	Course is a recording regardless of whether or not a moderator is present.
Type of Course	Presentation Method In Person Webcast/Teleconference Other Participants Allowed to Interact with Instructors During the Course Yes No If Yes, describe how questions are asked and answered during the course:	Presentation Method   On-Demand Recording   Rebroadcast   Other   Date Recording was Made   Qualified Moderator Present During the Course to Answer   Questions   Yes   No   If Yes, describe how questions are asked and answered during the course:

Minutes of Instruction	General Ethics		Include a complete course schedule including a full time breakdown and	
			detailed description of the legal topics covered. For recorded courses, include verification from the provider of the topics	
	Total		covered and the length of the recording in minutes.	

Date(s), Location(s) and Time of Course	Live course – date(s) and location(s) held and start & end times for course under 3 hours. Recording – date(s) and location(s) watched/ listened to.
This of course	

Additional	Number of Attorneys in Attendance	Less than 3	3 or more
Course	Program's Primary Target Group		
Information	(lawyers, accountants, physicians, etc.)		
	Registration Fee Charged for Program		

# Application for MCLE Credit Additional Information

## **Application Fees**

- Individual Idaho State Bar members who apply for accreditation of courses they attend do not have to pay the application fee.
  - Applications submitted by individual attorneys on behalf of the course provider should include the application fee.
- ► Course providers must include the \$75 application fee with each application with the following exceptions/exemptions:
  - No application fee is required for accreditation applications submitted by the Idaho Supreme Court, the Idaho State Bar and its sections or district bar associations or the Idaho Law Foundation, Inc.
  - Idaho-based legal Affinity Groups organized to promote the common interests of certain members of the Bar may pay a reduced application fee of \$50 per course.
- "In House" Courses applications for courses held by firms, organizations, agencies, etc. for their own members must include the appropriate application fee. This includes law firms, governmental entities and businesses.

#### Late Fee

- ▶ The \$25 late fee must be paid when:
  - Application from course provider is received more than 90 days after the course is held or after the recording is made.
  - Application from ISB member is received more than 90 days after the course was completed.

### **Type of Course**

- LIVE the course held live with instructors and attendees participating in real time. Live courses include webcasts and teleconferences where the instructor is speaking to the participants in real time.
  - A live course may include a limited number of sessions where a recording is viewed as long as there is a moderator who is qualified to answer attendees' questions present during the viewing of the recording. The date the recording was made should be noted on the course schedule.
- RECORDED the course is a recording regardless of whether or not a moderator is present. Recorded courses include recordings viewed/listened to by attorneys on their own and replays of recordings presented to a group with or without a moderator present.
  - A recording must be applied for separately and an application should not be submitted until the recording has been made and the actual runtime in minutes can be calculated.
  - Recordings cannot be more than five years old.
  - The course schedule from the original live course cannot be used to determine runtime unless verification from the course provider is included stating the recording followed the exact schedule as to topics and time is included with the application.
  - A breakdown of the topics and their individual runtimes is preferred in case ethics credits are requested or some topics cannot be approved.

#### **Ethics Credit**

- A detailed description of the legal ethics topics and the exact time the ethics topics were covered must be included for approval of ethics credit. Session titles normally do not provide the necessary topic detail. Additional information on the ethics topics and times can be included with the application.
  - Ethics credits shall be in courses on legal ethics or professional responsibility and may include discussion of the Idaho Rules of Professional Conduct, professionalism and civility, client trust account administration and legal malpractice prevention.

#### Self-Study Credit

A CLE activity will be deemed a self-study program unless three or more participants attend the course and the participants have access to the presenter during the CLE activity or, in the case of a recorded course, a moderator who is qualified to answer attendees' questions about the topics is present during the course.

#### **Course Topics**

- Courses included in the curriculum of a college or university undergraduate degree program do not qualify for accreditation.
- An attorney may receive credit for attendance at a non-legal educational program if the subject of that program relates specifically to the attorney's area of practice.
- ► A course may address law practice management to promote the efficient and competent delivery of legal services.
- No CLE credit shall be approved for marketing, client cultivation, general time management or stress reduction, computer training that is not specific to attorneys, general business topics, or vendor-provided activities designed solely to promote products or services.