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IDAHO PATIENT ACT

• Idaho Code 48-301 through -312

• Passed by 2020 legislature

• Pushed by Frank Vandersloot

• Response to what was perceived as abusive

collection practices in SE Idaho by health care

providers



IDAHO PATIENT ACT

• Originally effective January 1, 2020

• Adds hoops to jump through before you can 

sue a patient and recover your attorney fees



EXTRAORDINARY COLLECTION ACTIONS

• Negative credit report

• Third-party collections

• Lawsuit against patient

• Liens on property or assets

• Garnishing bank accounts or wages

• See I.C. 48-302(3)

• Demand letters not included I.C. 48-312



BEFORE YOU USE EXTRAORDINARY 

COLLECTION ACTIONS

• Within 45 days of service, all providers must 
submit claims to the patient’s insurance 
company or bill the patient directly.  I.C. 48-
304(1)

• Within 60 days of service, the health care facility 
must provide a “Consolidated Summary of 
Services” to the patient.  I.C. 48-304(2)

• A Final Statement must go to the patient. There 
is no time limit to process and finalize a claim.  
48-304(3)



BEFORE YOU USE EXTRAORDINARY 

COLLECTION ACTIONS

• The provider must wait 60 days from receipt 

of the final statement before charging 

interest.  I.C. 48-304(4)

• The provider must wait 90 days from receipt 

of the final statement before taking an 

extraordinary collection action.  I.C. 48-304(5)



EXTRA 45 DAYS TO SUBMIT CLAIMS

• See I.C. 48-306

• But provider forgoes its ability to collect 

attorney fees and costs from patient.

• Collection limited to amount of final statement 

and that’s it.

• See also HB 42 described below.



CONSOLIDATED SUMMARY OF SERVICES

• CSS sent within 60 days of service.  I.C. 48-

304(2).

• Required information:

– Patient name and contact information, including 

telephone number 

– Name and contact information, including 

telephone number of the health care facility 

where services were provided



CONSOLIDATED SUMMARY OF SERVICES

–Date and duration of visit to the facility

–General description of goods and 

services provided to the patient  with 

name, address and telephone number 

of each billing entity or provider group 

whose providers provided services



REQUIRED LANGUAGE IN CSS

• “This is Not a Bill. This is a Summary of 
Medical Services You Received. Retain This 
Summary for Your Records. Please Contact 
Your Insurance Company and the Health Care 
Providers Listed on this Summary to Determine 
the Final Amount You May Be Obligated to 
Pay.” 



NOT REQUIRED IN CSS

• Costs or charges of Services

• Patient Insurance Information

• Individual physician or clinician names – rather than 

an individual provider name, the CSS can include the 

provider group name or their billing service. 

• The intent is that the patient knows who to expect a 

bill from and who to contact if they do not receive a 

bill.



HOW TO PROVIDE CSS TO PATIENT

• In person at discharge

• First-Class Mail 

• With patient’s written consent, CSS may 

be sent via email or patient portal.



CSS NOT REQUIRED IF –

• 1) Patient will receive a 
final statement from a 
single billing entity for 
all services for services 
provided in the facility

• It is important to 
document that the 
patient has been 
informed of the billing 
entity

• 2) Patient is clearly 
informed in writing of 
the name, phone 
number and address of 
the billing entity



CAN TAKE AN EXTRA 90 DAYS FOR CSS

• See generally I.C. 48-306.

• Forgo the ability to collect legal costs from 
patient.

• Can only collect the amount of the final 
statement and that’s it.

• If you don’t send a CSS, your independent 
providers will be barred from receiving their 
attorney fees and costs if they sue the patient.

• See also HB 42 described below.



FINAL STATEMENT

• Must go to the patient:

• 60 days before interest can be charged

• 90 days before taking extraordinary collection 

action.

• With written consent of patient, the Final 

Statement may be sent via email or other 

electronic means, such as a patient portal

• Must be able to prove Final Statement was sent.



FINAL STATEMENT MUST INCLUDE

• Name and contact information, including 

telephone number of the patient

• Name contact information, including telephone 

number of the healthcare facility where the 

services were provided

• A list of good and services, in reasonable detail

• Initial charges

• Dates services were provided



FINAL STATEMENT MUST INCLUDE

• A statement telling the patient that a full itemized list 
of goods and services provided to the patient is 
available upon request

• Name of third-party payors to which the charges 
were submitted which includes the patient’s group 
and membership numbers.

• Detailed description of all reductions, adjustments, 
offsets, third-party payor payments, payments 
received from patients, that adjust the initial charges 

• Final amount patient is obligated to pay



THREE-DAY RULE

• The law presumes that patients will receive 

documents within 3 days after being sent by 

First-Class Mail.

• Providers should actually use 63 or 93-day 

timelines to proceed for collecting 

outstanding debt.



ATTORNEY FEES AND COSTS – I.C. 48-305

• If you jump through all these hoops and engage 

in extraordinary collection actions, the there is a 

cap on recovery of fees and costs.

• Uncontested case – $350 or 100% of principal 

amount (whichever is less), plus interest

• Contested case – $750 or 100% of principal 

amount (whichever is less), plus interest.



ATTORNEY FEES AND COSTS – I.C. 48-305

• Post-judgment motions and writs – $25 plus 

costs of service.

• Willful attempts to avoid paying bona fide 

debt exempted.

• If patient prevails, he or she can recover 

attorney fees and costs incurred in contesting 

the debt, plus penalties (see below).



ENFORCEMENT AND PENALTIES

• If any party takes extraordinary collection 

actions without meeting the requirements 

of the Act, the patient shall have no liability 

for any collection costs, expenses or fees. 

• The party will also be liable to the patient 

for any actual damages sustained by the 

patient, or $1,000, whichever is greater.



ENFORCEMENT AND PENALTIES

• If party has knowingly violated the Act’s 

requirements, the court may award 3 times 

the amount of actual damages, or $3,000, 

whichever is greater.  I.C. 48-311.



2021 LEGISLATURE – HOUSE BILL 42

• Adds I.C. Section 48-313.

• Unanimously Approved by the House.  

• Hearing in the Senate next week. 

• For services prior to July 1, 2021, new section 
waives the 45 and 90 day extended timelines in 
Section 48-306 as long as all of the other 
requirements of Section 48-306 are met.

• You still have to bill the payor and send the CSS, but 
not within the required time frames.

• No attorney fees and costs.



THANK YOU!

Thomas J. Mortell

tmortell@hawleytroxell.com

www.hawleytroxell.com

208.344.6000


